We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay at an Old Lady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A good stay at an Old Lady”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and i stayed for three nights in September,as part of our first visit to South Africa. We were welcomed by a friendly car park attendant and receptionist. We had a room with a sizeable balcony at the back of the hotel. In hindsight we should have asked for a sea facing room from which we could have observed the whales.The hotel is often referred to as the 'Old Lady'. this is reflected in the heating pipework and other aspects of the hotel's infrastructure. All of the hotel staff, especially Heather Inggs were courteous and helpful. The breakfast and one evening meal we had were excellent. The lady in the travel shop was very helpful and knowledgeable.The hotel was a good base for watching whales,.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. This shows in the heating system and some of the hotel frabric. The break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
The Marine, as you rightly mention, is the elegant Dame of Hermanus where we pride ourselves in a little of that old world charm in an unforgettable setting.
Next time that you visit, we will be sure to locate you in one of our delightful sea facing suites to enjoy the whales in a new way.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    136
    58
    20
    11
See reviews for
117
416
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Unbelievably welcoming hotel - particularly with the children. Each child was greeted by name on arrival & there was a personal present awaiting each one on their beds - all carefully thought out - from a leather bracelet for the teenage boy to colouring books & stuffed animals for the younger ones. Children's reference books & activity books had been laid out on the coffee table & each child had their own pink or blue trimmed dressing gown & slippers which our 6 year old adored.
Service was superb. The younger children had room service which was excellent & we left them watching a dvd as we dined with instructions to call us via reception. This caused great amusement in the restaurants each night as I was handed the phone summoning me to put them to bed. Breakfasts were exceptionally good.
The VIEW from the rooms breathtaking. Within 5 minutes of arriving we were all glued to the window watching a whale breach. The rooms also had a particularly pleasant atmosphere - fresh cut flowers, fruit, books.
Recommend the coastal walk - we walked the whole bay, with the kids. An easy walk with the occasional information poster & plenty of opportunity for climbing on the rocks. We saw lots of whales (very hard to photograph) & also rock hyrax & seals. Had lunch in Gans Bay & took a tuktuk back (a bit scary!).
Tiny little point - the baths have no shower attachments so not ideal for washing out small kids or sandy clothes. Showers lovely & there are both in the bathrooms

Room Tip: Make sure your room overlooks the ocean. Keep the window shut though when windy as the sash windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It was great to have your family with us and your children were an absolute delight. I am pleased they enjoyed all the little extras. We aim to make Mum and Dads` stay a little easier and provide a quality family destination.
We hope to welcome you all back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arranged to stay in The Marine for 3 nights, at the start of our tour along the Garden Route, and what a wonderful choice we made. The staff, setting, and room were all perfect; with not a single fault. As an example of the exemplary service we received, when we arrived I realised I had left a Jacket in our previous hotel in Stellenbosch about 90km away, mentioning to Hamish the hotel manager over dinner that evening of my misfortune and annoyance of my needing to drive back. He said "leave it with me", I left him the details of our previous hotel, and the next evening I returned to my Jacket hanging in my wardrobe, no cost, no questions just an outstanding service. In addition to this, everyday we would leave the hotel to find that they had overnight washed my car, and cleaned the glass again at no cost, with no questions there are few hotels I have ever stayed in which deliver such brilliance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor, there are a number of rooms on the ground floor, but in a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMON81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It was an honour to meet yourself and your lovely new wife. I do hope that when you are next in South Africa, you will consider another visit where we will dream up new ways to surprise and delight you!
A happy life to you both from all of us here at The Marine.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just home from our second visit to The Marine.

Three perfect nights stay, with flawless welcome and service from the whole team, and excellent food and wines. Plenty of fresh air, great scenery, and a lot of very active whales made this a wonderful short break.

Thanks

Nick Inkster

Room Tip: Go for a Premier Suite for the most stunning views of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
What a pleasure it was having you saty with us and I am delighted that the whales put on such a good show.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Marine Hotel in Hermanus - the hotel is lovely and very fitting for the area - but what made it special was the wonderful views from our suite - to wake up and be able to see whales breaching only a short distance away is amazing! Even our bathroom had a view! The staff was great and very responsive to a situation that I was a little taken back by - there was the need for construction done on the roof directly over our room and although I understand that the repairs needed to occur while the weather cooperated - a little notice to the guests affected would have been nice. After a call to the front desk - it was strange but they were not at first aware - they immediately responded by offer to move us to a larger suite. We declined the offer since our room was on the second floor and offered a better view. We figured as long as it was not going to last all day or carry over to any other day we could deal with and enjoy the Sun Room in the lobby. All in all - definitely where I would recommend staying in Hermanus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and must sincerely apologise for the emergency repairs being done that day. You are very correct that a letter should have been waiting for you on your return from your Shark Cage-diving adventure at Midday, informing you of this.

The good news is that all is repaired and we are rearing to go into a busy season.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine in the near future.

Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Warm friendly welcome from every single member of staff (and I mean everyone) that we walked in on our way to reception and then our room. Great old character hotel with friendly people. The suite was comfortable with a great view of the whales in the bay. We booked a massage at the spa which was wonderful. My only gripe was the cleaning staff in the morning were very noisy in the passage outside our room for those of us who want to sleep past eight. A small point against a wonderful overnight break from Cape Town.

Room Tip: Must be sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connecteddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hermanus truly is a spectacular destination, even for a quick relaxing weekend break. Thank you for your positive comments and I must apologise for the noise out side of your room.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I visited the hotel for three days in August. We had one of the best stays in our trip to south africa here. the whale watching was incredible. Our room looked out onto the ocean and it was fantastic.
the hotel also had a resturant, that had an excellent wine list, superb service and a relaxed atmosphere. The food was incredible. All in all it is on the top of my list for rooms, service and food, and location!!

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Whale viewing has just got better and better as the season has progressed with some wonderful sightings all around the Bay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing