We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Accommodations for Whale Watching!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodations for Whale Watching!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Marine Hotel in Hermanus - the hotel is lovely and very fitting for the area - but what made it special was the wonderful views from our suite - to wake up and be able to see whales breaching only a short distance away is amazing! Even our bathroom had a view! The staff was great and very responsive to a situation that I was a little taken back by - there was the need for construction done on the roof directly over our room and although I understand that the repairs needed to occur while the weather cooperated - a little notice to the guests affected would have been nice. After a call to the front desk - it was strange but they were not at first aware - they immediately responded by offer to move us to a larger suite. We declined the offer since our room was on the second floor and offered a better view. We figured as long as it was not going to last all day or carry over to any other day we could deal with and enjoy the Sun Room in the lobby. All in all - definitely where I would recommend staying in Hermanus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and must sincerely apologise for the emergency repairs being done that day. You are very correct that a letter should have been waiting for you on your return from your Shark Cage-diving adventure at Midday, informing you of this.

The good news is that all is repaired and we are rearing to go into a busy season.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine in the near future.

Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    137
    59
    20
    11
See reviews for
118
419
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Warm friendly welcome from every single member of staff (and I mean everyone) that we walked in on our way to reception and then our room. Great old character hotel with friendly people. The suite was comfortable with a great view of the whales in the bay. We booked a massage at the spa which was wonderful. My only gripe was the cleaning staff in the morning were very noisy in the passage outside our room for those of us who want to sleep past eight. A small point against a wonderful overnight break from Cape Town.

Room Tip: Must be sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connecteddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hermanus truly is a spectacular destination, even for a quick relaxing weekend break. Thank you for your positive comments and I must apologise for the noise out side of your room.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I visited the hotel for three days in August. We had one of the best stays in our trip to south africa here. the whale watching was incredible. Our room looked out onto the ocean and it was fantastic.
the hotel also had a resturant, that had an excellent wine list, superb service and a relaxed atmosphere. The food was incredible. All in all it is on the top of my list for rooms, service and food, and location!!

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Whale viewing has just got better and better as the season has progressed with some wonderful sightings all around the Bay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at The Marine for only one night on our tour of the Garden Route. It is simply First Rate. While we didn't have a sea view our suite was beautiful! Service was very good and all the staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous even down to arranging our Whale Watching trip (brilliant!). Definitely worth visiting, only wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsabigworldouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
When you return to our little piece of paradise, I look forward to once more showing you magnificent whales, hopefully from your luxurious Sea View suite.
Hurry back.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We (my husband and I) spent last weekend at the Marine and it was a highlight.
From check in to check out there was not a single thing we could fault.
The suite was just perfect with a spectacular view of the bay and the whales which we were so lucky to observe. What a privilege to stand at the window and see them so close at hand - it was thrilling.
The staff were attentive and efficient and willing to go the extra mile.
The food in both restaurants - The Pavilion and the Seafood was excellent and the service likewise.
Breakfast each day was a treat - we were wanting for nothing.
During the weekend my husband celebrated his birthday and a charming touch was a plate of sweetmeats placed in the room with birthday greetings - much appreciated.
All in all a lovely weekend with the cherry on the top having our car washed before we departed - a most thoughtful gesture.
We will definitely return, sooner hopefully rather than later!!!
JUNE D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
What better setting could you have chosen for your special occasion. The whales are active in the bay and the weather has been great of late.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
HamishHofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent position to view whales from your bedroom window.
Walking distance to all the main attractions and restuarants in town.
Exceptionally friendly staff made our stay special.
It is quite pricey, but we had a wonderful experience and will
definitely go back for another spoil !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We strive to be the best but not to lose the human touch and it is fantastic to hear that our staff are doing so well.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Nothing quite like watching the whales putting on a show of breaching from your bedroom windows while sipping champagne.

The service however is the most impressive from the moment we were greeted at our car they couldn't do enough. Claudia in reception went above and beyond the call of duty helping us to be reunited with treasured item that was foolish left behind due to a 4.30am check out going to see sharks! She couldn't have done more for us and we were reunited with our lost item in port Elizabeth just before leaving for safari.

Thanks so much

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinitygirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We set high goals for ourselves in service and it is great to hear that we are achieving this.
I will most definitely give Claudia your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back to The Marine Hotel soon.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing