We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed at the Marine for three nights earlier this month. What a wonderful place. The whale watching is fabulous this time of year...they are really all over the place. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great as well. It helped a bit that we had Room 219, which is a two-story Premier Suite located on the second floor of the three-sided structure in the middle of the hotel facing the ocean. Without question the greatest hotel room we have ever had. The food in both restaurants is very good. I highly recommend the Marine.

  • Liked — Room 219...stupendous
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    134
    58
    20
    11
See reviews for
115
407
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

A very nice place to stay to watch the whales and enjoy Hermanus. The rooms are comfortable. The service is great. The whale watching is also great. You will be amazed at how easy is actually is to see the whales. We watched a mother and her calf swim less than 100m off the coast in front of the hotel for more than two hours.

We would also recommend making dinner reservations as soon as possible. Many restaurants were booked in advance. Hermanus is small so have a look around for a place you like.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Newman_5a_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Marine for one night as part of a larger trip to S. Africa. We thought that the drive from Cape Town to Hermanus, was one of the most memorable parts of our trip. Hermanus itself is a bit tired and touristy, but the hotel is a true oasis. The views from the hotel and from Hermanus are spectacular. Unfortunately, we came a bit early in the season and di not see any whales. However, we had fabulous food at the Marine Hotel. The dinner we had at the hotel restaurant (the seafood restaurant) was one of the best we had in South Africa. The bar and lounge at the hotel was also beautiful and very stylish. The hotel had a nice aesthetic. I think the public spaces were more updated than our room. Overall, our room was very nice, though. The hotel itself was really attractive. Even the views from the room were breathtaking ocean views (even from the bathroom!)
Overall, I think the hotel is wonderful if you plan to go to Hermanus for whale watching. I would definitely eat there. I am not sure I would stay in Hermanus for more than 2 nights total though. Again, though, the drive from Cape Town made the experience even more special

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gona40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

Lovely hotel, superb staff at all levels. Food (particularly seafood) is as good or better than many top city restaurants. Bedroom didn't have a view but was comfortable, clean and nicely furnished.
The town itself is quiet, but the scenery wonderful, and the cliff top location of the hotel could not be better.

  • Liked — Attention to detail, consideration for customers wishes
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank artanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

This upscale hotel is a little paradise. We arrived in Hermanus, which is a wonderful little town by the ocean, to find the white bricked building of our hotel, where we stayed for 2 nights. Although the average age comprised of +/- 55, we felt very special in this hotel. The room is absolutely beautiful (ask for 106 if you chose a luxury room) and the food is excellent. Enjoy, enjoy....

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2007

We stayed three nights in The Marine on our fantastic SA honeymoon.

From our lovely welcome by Heather to our departure we could not have asked for better service or value for money.

Champagne in the room on arrival, beautiful turn-downs at night with rose petals and chocolates and the most perfect cosmoplitans that I have tasted anywhere. Service around the pool was prompt and the paninis were delicious. Food in both restaurants was excellent. The first night we ate in the main restaurant and both finished with the banana souffle, which they cut into at the table and poured chocolate rum sauce inside. We were so full we nearly had to be carried up the stairs to bed! The seafood restaurant is beautiful and "New England" in decor.

As with all hotels, your room is what you pay for. We had booked a sea-facing room and we got a huge room on the first floor with a big bath under the bathroom window and another beside the bed in the bedroom so you could lie and relax whilst watching the wales in the bay.

My only gripe was the rain (in Summer!) which cancelled our whale watching trip and took us on a tour of more vineyards!

I find harsh reviews about anything not being "value for money" in SA crazy. Everything is far, far, cheaper than its equivalent in UK.

I would highly recommend this relaxing and contemporary hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — food, views, decor
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2007

We were very disappointed with the Marine Hotel. It was the most expensive of all the hotels and first class B&Bs that we stayed in and not good value for money.

Yes the views are amazing, and the whales came out to play. The breakfasts are fantastic and the lady in the travel shop is very friendly and helpful.

But.... it started out badly when the receptionist suggested that my partner didn't wear shorts for the bar. Our room was on the first floor overlooking a whole lot of other rooms with a shared terrace, it was completely over furnished with ruffly floral bits and pieces and completely over the top in places.

We found it overpriced, lacking in special touches and given the fact that there is such a high standard of accomodation in South Africa - very disappointing.

  • Liked — The views and the whales
  • Disliked — over the top and poor value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — Book somewhere else in Hermanus - this hotel exists on its heritage and location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buttles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing