We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful bisto/bar atmosphere”
Review of Lizette's Kitchen

Lizette's Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lizettes a stylish Bar Restaurant set in an iconic and historic property in Voelklip, Hermanus. Lizette’s is a restaurant with a unique twist, dishes are hand crafted, using the freshest of produce. Lizette’s offers an eclectic variety of fare designed with you in mind. Whether you are a weary traveller, holiday maker or loyal local, you will love our range of world class local wines from the Hemel en Aarde valley and beyond. Couple this with awesome craft beers and Gins from all over the Western Cape - and you know your off to a great start. Complement that with ever-changing food influences and trends from all over the world and you will discover a fusion of flavours and cultures that truly represent this little piece of heaven on earth we call Voelklip.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“delightful bisto/bar atmosphere”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We tried this new spot (only open 1 month) as it was close to our hotel, and we were not disappointed, interesting menu, with both Vietnamese and Morocon dishes. The atmosphere is excellent, and the service great, with a lot of attention to detail. This is going to be the place to be at in Hermanus!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeoffC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    127
    36
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a treat!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Certainly a breath of fresh air for the area, a unique and welcoming culinary 'treat'! You don't need to be a rocket scientist (or burnt-out actress) to appreciate that you'll need to arrive with an open mind and follow the chef's recommendations and indulge in layering the flavours and playing with the fragrant and spicy combinations :)

The staff are friendly and well versed in the menu and the experience in totality is refreshing and fun! Definitely a good reason to visit Hermanus again soon - well done guys :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewsfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“just can't hit this nail on the head”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I can't begin to tell you how sad and disapoointed I am to give this new, trendy, well appointed eatery a bad review. It was with great expectations that we decided to have lunch at lizette's last weekend. We'd heard about the excitement of the purchase of the land, the renovations, the wonderful opening, in fact a dear friend spent every meal there on the opening weekend!

The small menu offers a really nice selection of Thai, Vietnamese, North African fare. Unfortunately out of the three dishes we choose (all Vietnamese) we were not impressed, bland, flavourless and really unapealing food.

Unfortunately there are too many really wonderful eateries in Hermanus, Onrus or Standford to choose from and I'm afraid wild horses won't drag us there in a hurry. Unless of course someone takes note and ups their game. This is a place with soooo much potential. Come on you have everything going for you.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burntoutactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIzettes-KItchen, Owner at Lizette's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Burnt out actress We are sorry you found our food bland. Vietnamese cuisine is relatively new on the scene in South Africa and only represents a small portion of our varied menu of over 35 international dishes. We hope to bring a better understanding to the local palate about the Vietnamese style of eating. As you will have tried the Vietnamese fare with us, you may recall them being served with several accoutrements which may seem like garnish, but will have been explained by our service team as the building blocks of the meal. For example, the fish sauce, chili, herbs and noodles are all flavour "layers" which are added by the diner themself in order to create the perfect flavour combination. As Asian food also does not cook with salt, the addition of soya and fish sauces are vital to enhance flavours, again, always done by the diner. The traditional and ethnic foods are made and served exactly as they are found on the streets of Saigon or Hanoi - an experience in itself! Again, thank you for your informed opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super Fabulous”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The moment we wlaked into this place I knew that here is something special! The food is seriously good, the staff are way special, the prices are very good and the whole place is special. Lizette, owner and chef supreme is seriously special and wonderful. The decor and resident doggy...Tombi...all the way from Vietnam is fabulous. I love this place. I have eaten in thousands of the world's best restaurants in over 104 countries and am a chef myself.....this place rocks !
Book in advance it is very full.....we wonder why???? Once you've been there - you'll always go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBuffHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant, tastefully decorated, delicious food.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Trendy restaurant, tastefully decorated, delicious food. I recommend the leg of lamb, cooked in a Moroccan style. Drinks are excellent.
I suggest you book in advance because when we were there - the restaurant was full of diners.
Fortunately, Jose, the owner of the guest house we were (78on5th) - did it for us.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nilizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizette's Kitchen also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Lizette's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing