We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Whale Coast Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whale Coast Lodge
Ranked #55 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November and were very happy with the place. The rooms are nice and clean and the manager Janette was very good at recommending things to do/see in Hermanus. She even helped me re-arrange my cancelled shark cage diving trip at very short notice. The lodge is a short walk to the town and to the coastal path and has private parking. Compared to other places we looked at it's excellent value and we'd recommend it to anyone visiting Hermanus.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Whale Coast Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 157 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nadine and I found the accommodation to be just what we needed. It was clean, comfortable and priced right for what we wanted to pay We will gladly recommend it and would certainly come again.
Kind regards
Robin Beck

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very nice (and new) apartments, located in a shopping center 5 minutes walk from the sea.

We booked a big unit with three bedrooms and two fully equipped bathrooms. It was divided in two floors, with kitchen, living area and balcony on the ground floor, and all rooms on the upper floor.
We found it very nice, clean and complete, thanks to the big lcd tv with audio syste and usb, kitchen was definitely great and there is also a bbq on the balcony (we could not use it beacuse of the weather).
One little note could be the size of the double rooms upstairs: the main one is large, while the other two are kind of small.

Wifi internet is provided for free, but there is a data cap of 300Mb for your stay and it doesnt seem to work on the ground floor (which is where we stayed most of the time).
Parking is free in a large underground garage, accessible with electronic key.

Unfortunately we were only given one key at check-in and it turned a bit difficult to handle the many security measures they are using.. As it is impossible to go out in the early morning, when all the entrance doors are locked and therefore not accessible from outside and from inside (!!)

Managers were very kind and friendly, while the other reception staff did not look to be too worried about us being without hot water for all morning and again when we told them that it was raining Inside one of our rooms.

However we would definitely suggest this place, which is very convenient and offers a good service at a fair price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been staying at this place for two nights. The rooms are very nice and we got lots of good advice about what to do / not to do in Hermanus. Very friendly staff. We would definitely go there again. It was only a short walk to the sea where we could see lots of whales that got really close to the shore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unfugmail-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place is a great base for staying in the Hermanus area. It's easy to walk in to town and to the coastal path and it's like a home from home so you can bbq and cook if needs be. Our room was spotless. We'd have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Room was quite neat and place is spacious and peaceful during the night, you can't find any other place like this at such a bargain price. The place is located closely to the town center and it is just a 5-minute walk distance. Thanks to Janette for the arrangement, you are very kind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

we visited Hermanus on a spur of the moment weekend trip just to see the whales and were lucky enough to get accomodation that was both pretty and comfortable and allowed children under the age of 3. The room we had was tge southern right whale room and jad a king size bed and double bunker- it was spacious and comfortable. There was a heater, dstv enabled tv and dvd player and even adapter for charging your cell (perfect as we had forgotten to pack ours). The bathroom had a spa bath and shower. The self catering aspect to the place meant a communal kitchen and lounge with fireplace. We would visit and stay again especially since our baby (3 months old) was welcomed and not an issue also we would stay again if we went over with family booking the entire house.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadiMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
6 Stemmet Lodge
6 Stemmet Lodge
#50 of 85 in Hermanus
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twentyfour17 Inn
Twentyfour17 Inn
#47 of 85 in Hermanus
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#56 of 85 in Hermanus
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jakasa Guesthouse
Jakasa Guesthouse
#57 of 85 in Hermanus
11 reviews
2.2 mi away
Robin's Nest Guest House
Robin's Nest Guest House
#33 of 85 in Hermanus
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine Square
Marine Square
#7 of 45 in Hermanus
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Coast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Coast Lodge

Address: 19 Flower Street | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $50 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whale Coast Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale Coast Lodge is a luxury, child friendly home where children have space to play. It is a self-catering establishment with four en-suite rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen and a cosy fire place with flat screen TV in the lounge. The Lodge has a barbeque area outside for the guests own use. The Lodge is serviced every day and clean towels and linen are provided. A camping cot is available on request for babies under age 3. If you do not feel like sharing the lodge facilities with other guests, book one of our fully equipped Cottages or The Whale Coast Manor for your own privacy. We have recently renovated and added these three Cottages and The Manor (sleeps max 10 people) to our establishment. New image, new management and ready to assist your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Whale Coast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing