We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and very nice rooms”
Review of Whale Coast Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whale Coast Lodge
Ranked #56 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and very nice rooms”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay for two nights with our children! The room was big and very nice, the bathroom was very fresh and we could have a shower at the same time as the children were in the bathtub. A very nice and clean splash pool, and a backyard to barbeque, eat and play in. The sea and the city centre were close. A 5 min walk to Pic n'pay made self catering very easy. The kitchen was big and we found everything we needed for cooking. Dishes were washed and the room was very nicely cleaned during our stay. True hospitality and very friendly staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GunnW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    59
    24
    6
    11
See reviews for
47
59
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Thank you ladies for making my husbands' birthday an unforgettable 1. The cottage we had was unbelievable (exactly what we needed) and with your hospitality everything was wonderful.. You really went out of your way to make our stay pleasurable. We will most definitely come back again. Thanks once again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariampam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Whale Coast Lodge! My friends and I stayed there for one night for my birthday on 9 March, but we wished we could stay for longer. Really loved the interior design of the place. Nice leather couch in sitting room with large flatscreen TV with DSTV. The whole cottage and other seperated room we used were very spacious, comfortable, clean and well maintained. The personnel were also very friendly. The cottages have nice self-catering kitchens fully equiped with all the utensils you need to cook. Outside is braai-facilities in the courtyard under trees. Free Wi-fi internet also availble. Prices are per room and not per person, but it is very affordable. Will definitely refer others to this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_Hoekstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hi everyone,

On the 25/02/2013 till 27/02/2013 we were on vacation at the Whale Coast Lodge, oh! what a wonderful time did we have. If you want to see hospitality, friendliness, openhearted and non racial people go to this place and meet the best two ladies Luzaan and Janette. The walk an extra mile with you. Please, please, please owner of this place don't you ever think of firing these two ladies, cause that place would be nothing without them. Janette, thank you for spending that evening with me my husband and the other two couple of England, Sam and Gas. If you want to go on vacation and need a place where you can call home, Whale Coast Lodge is it, you won't make a mistake. Ladies at the Lodge it was not the last that you have seen of us. The place is spotless and the environment so relaxing. People across the globe you won't make a mistake of making a booking at the Whale Coast Lodge. Love you Janette and Luzaan.

From Mrs and Mr Mkosana of Paarl

Room Tip: Whale back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay!!! Everyone is so friendly and everywhere is spotless! If you want a really lovely place that's reasonable and relaxed don't go anywhere else!!! If we're back here at anytime, this is where we'll be!!! Thanks folks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusandsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rooms are great! Clean, comfortable and deffinately better than some of the more expensive options around Hermanus. There was a good kitchen available for all our self catering needs with a braai area, kiddies splash pool, nice lounge and DSTV and more. It is also very safe, kids pool is locked so the todlers don't fall in, security gates around the premisis as well. Oh an management will help you book your trips and activities.

Staff: Friendly and helpfull.

Location: 5 min walk from the sea! Awesome. Inbetween the new and old harbour, which basicaly makes everything walking distance expt for the swimming beach, but no matter where you stay your most likely going to have to drive to the swimming beach anyways.

Nearby Shops: Pic n Pay, Surf Shop, Garage, + lots more

Nearby Restaurants/Bars/Fast food: Annie Se Kombuis (awesome!!); Spur, KFC, Steers, Gecko Bar, Savanah + many more

Definitely recomend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We made a reservation at Whale Coast Lodge in April 2012 for our stay in December 2012. We made full payment for 4 people for the self catering accommodation and also sent through proof of payment in April 2012. When I called them in December to confirm our accommodation they said the had no recollection or records of our request or payment. I told their management to check their bank statements and they still insisted that we made no payment. I then found my proof of payment and submitted it to them via email. It was at this point I thought to myself that obviously they have no clue what they doing. They then told me the person who made the booking resigned and that they have no accommodation. I obviously was upset and told them this was unacceptable. I told them to make alternative arrangements, so they then booked us into a place called "4 Pines Lodge". I distinctively told Whale Coast Lodge that I wanted self catering accommodation as the replacement. When we got to 4 Pines Lodge, guess what??? It was a B&B... So I'll let you decide how useless Whale Coast Lodge are.....

They lie, can't plan, make false promises and mostly make your life a hell on earth!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamilBhoora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
6 Stemmet Lodge
6 Stemmet Lodge
#54 of 87 in Hermanus
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twentyfour17 Inn
Twentyfour17 Inn
#51 of 87 in Hermanus
62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hornbill House Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Whale Coast Villa
Whale Coast Villa
#55 of 87 in Hermanus
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine Square
Marine Square
#7 of 42 in Hermanus
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#57 of 87 in Hermanus
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Coast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Coast Lodge

Property: Whale Coast Lodge
Address: 19 Flower Street | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whale Coast Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale Coast Lodge is a luxury, child friendly home where children have space to play. It is a self-catering establishment with four en-suite rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen and a cosy fire place with flat screen TV in the lounge. The Lodge has a barbeque area outside for the guests own use. The Lodge is serviced every day and clean towels and linen are provided. A camping cot is available on request for babies under age 3. If you do not feel like sharing the lodge facilities with other guests, book one of our fully equipped Cottages or The Whale Coast Manor for your own privacy. We have recently renovated and added these three Cottages and The Manor (sleeps max 10 people) to our establishment. New image, new management and ready to assist your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Whale Coast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing