We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whale Coast Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$221
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$122
$75
SA Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$700
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
62
64
24
7
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
64
24
7
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesself cateringshared kitchenwalking distancenice lodgebraai facilitieslittle thingsvery comfortable staythe main houseone night staytown centreshark cage divingnice roomlounge areawell equipped kitchenlovely placehome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 174 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rooms are great! Clean, comfortable and deffinately better than some of the more expensive options around Hermanus. There was a good kitchen available for all our self catering needs with a braai area, kiddies splash pool, nice lounge and DSTV and more. It is also very safe, kids pool is locked so the todlers don't fall in, security gates around the premisis as well. Oh an management will help you book your trips and activities.

Staff: Friendly and helpfull.

Location: 5 min walk from the sea! Awesome. Inbetween the new and old harbour, which basicaly makes everything walking distance expt for the swimming beach, but no matter where you stay your most likely going to have to drive to the swimming beach anyways.

Nearby Shops: Pic n Pay, Surf Shop, Garage, + lots more

Nearby Restaurants/Bars/Fast food: Annie Se Kombuis (awesome!!); Spur, KFC, Steers, Gecko Bar, Savanah + many more

Definitely recomend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We made a reservation at Whale Coast Lodge in April 2012 for our stay in December 2012. We made full payment for 4 people for the self catering accommodation and also sent through proof of payment in April 2012. When I called them in December to confirm our accommodation they said the had no recollection or records of our request or payment. I told their management to check their bank statements and they still insisted that we made no payment. I then found my proof of payment and submitted it to them via email. It was at this point I thought to myself that obviously they have no clue what they doing. They then told me the person who made the booking resigned and that they have no accommodation. I obviously was upset and told them this was unacceptable. I told them to make alternative arrangements, so they then booked us into a place called "4 Pines Lodge". I distinctively told Whale Coast Lodge that I wanted self catering accommodation as the replacement. When we got to 4 Pines Lodge, guess what??? It was a B&B... So I'll let you decide how useless Whale Coast Lodge are.....

They lie, can't plan, make false promises and mostly make your life a hell on earth!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamilBhoora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Not safe. Crappy service. Manager arranged a private party at the lodge with loud music till late night. Our shark cage diving got cancelled, but staff was not at all helpful in arranging another trip and wanted us to pay a much higher price. Not recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krs00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalecoastlodge, Manager at Whale Coast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guests
Firstly we would like to apologize for the disappointment you had experienced with your stay in Hermanus at our establishment.
I am please to let you know that your review has definately encouraged us to respond immediately.
We are pleased to report that Whale Coast Lodge was recently renovated and also changed management, as to we created a new and fresh image.
We strive to make your stay as special as possible and hope we can make this up to you someday.
We all wish you blessings for the festive time ahead & a wonderful New Year!
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
The Whale Coast Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews