We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap”
Review of Whale Coast Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whale Coast Lodge
Ranked #64 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Not safe. Crappy service. Manager arranged a private party at the lodge with loud music till late night. Our shark cage diving got cancelled, but staff was not at all helpful in arranging another trip and wanted us to pay a much higher price. Not recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krs00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalecoastlodge, Manager at Whale Coast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guests
Firstly we would like to apologize for the disappointment you had experienced with your stay in Hermanus at our establishment.
I am please to let you know that your review has definately encouraged us to respond immediately.
We are pleased to report that Whale Coast Lodge was recently renovated and also changed management, as to we created a new and fresh image.
We strive to make your stay as special as possible and hope we can make this up to you someday.
We all wish you blessings for the festive time ahead & a wonderful New Year!
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
The Whale Coast Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JeroenRijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Ruben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reynaud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blatune V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank falbah_117126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#27 of 88 in Hermanus
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Backpackers
Hermanus Backpackers
#2 of 49 in Hermanus
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jakasa Guesthouse
Jakasa Guesthouse
#52 of 88 in Hermanus
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Coast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Coast Lodge

Address: 19 Flower Street | Westcliff, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $53 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whale Coast Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale Coast Lodge is a luxury, child friendly home where children have space to play. It is a self-catering establishment with four en-suite rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen and a cosy fire place with flat screen TV in the lounge. The Lodge has a barbeque area outside for the guests own use. The Lodge is serviced every day and clean towels and linen are provided. A camping cot is available on request for babies under age 3. If you do not feel like sharing the lodge facilities with other guests, book one of our fully equipped Cottages or The Whale Coast Manor for your own privacy. We have recently renovated and added these three Cottages and The Manor (sleeps max 10 people) to our establishment. New image, new management and ready to assist your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whale Coast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing