We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and very kind service.Outstanding in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguino Guesthouse
Ranked #23 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Personal and very kind service.Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stefan and Nikki were the perfect hosts when we stayed here at the beginning of April 2013. The blueberry pancakes must be the ultimate breakfast treat. Fantastic value for money and very comfortable. Thank you .

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely. We liked being upstairs as there was a covered sitting area. We also had a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alawilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It was a real pleasure to stay with Nikki and Stefan in Hermanus. We arrived and had a great talk with our hosts with a glass of wine. The room was absolutely cosy and clean. The Penguino is not directly at the coast, but it is really just a one minute walk to get there.
The breakfast which Stefan prepares every morning is really looking for its match.
Since we had not decided on our further journey, Stefan and Nikki spend a whole morning on planning our route, gave us valuable advice and even called other b&b's and the Kruger Park for us. We would stay at penguinos again anytime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire,england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in the Emperor Room, Stefan and Nikki were most obliging hosts. The breakfast were excellent and the specials were something to look forward to. Stefan even took the trouble to bake a Gluten Free Loaf which was one of the nicest. Restaurant bookings, transport all arranged for us. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing stay, would certainly visit again. John and Trish Craven

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank johncandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Didn't need to book in advance, and they had a room available for us for the night. Easy to find location. Will need to book ahead next time. Very comfortable bed, clean rooms and a great breakfast in the morning. Nikki and Stefan treated us so well and made us feel so comfortable. One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. This place is great value for money. We certainly recommend this great guesthouse to anyone that is travelling along the coast road in South Africa. Will be looking forward to staying again next time in Hermanus.

Room Tip: The room in the main part of the house was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

a very nice place to stay in. my wife and I enjoyed our brief stay there and we will definitely came back for a longer stay. The hosts are super friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was really clean and spacious. Awesome place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickChauke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This guesthouse is perfectly located - Walking distance from village and only a minute from the sea. The room was clean and beautifully furnished. From the moment we arrived Stefan and Nikki made us feel at home. The breakfast prepared by Stefan (who happens to be a chef) was great. We really enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend Penguino.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Penguino during a recent tour of the western cape. It's a lovely guesthouse in a great location, minutes from the cliff path ( perfect for whale spotting ) and a short walk to the town centre. Our room was large, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. An added bonus was the large private balcony/patio area overlooking the pool. So the accomodation is of an extremely high standard but what makes this an exceptional place to stay are the hosts, Nikki and Stefan.

The welcome from Nikki was so warm and friendly that we felt immediately at home. Nothing was too much trouble and the help and advice we received from both Nikki and Stefan ensured that we really enjoyed our stay and made the most of Hermanus. Everybody mentions breakfast with Stefan which is a highlight of the day and was certainly the best we had during our 3 week trip. This is a lovely place to stay with super hosts and the best value of all the guest houses/hotels we used. We cannot recommend the Penguino highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
641 reviews
1.8 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#33 of 86 in Hermanus
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#22 of 86 in Hermanus
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#11 of 86 in Hermanus
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Venusta
Villa Venusta
#17 of 86 in Hermanus
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguino Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguino Guesthouse

Property: Penguino Guesthouse
Address: 16 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penguino Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penguino guesthouse's 4 rooms are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. We are a small family run guesthouse we pride ourselves to give warm, friendly personal style of hospitality. As we are just 40 m from the famous cliff paths and a 7 minute walk to the center of town. Stefan and Nikki Otto are looking forward to welcoming you to Penguino... come and breath our Champagne air! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Penguino Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing