We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wave and Whale Watching”
other travelers have booked this property
Sea view enclosed patio w
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view enclosed patio w
View from patio Basin, bath and shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Sea view enclosed patio w
View from patio
Basin, bath and shower
Queen sized bed leading onto enclosed seafacing patio
Fully equipped kitchen
Lounge leading onto open seafacing patio
Open plan lounge leading onto enclosed patio.
view of apartment on corner top floor.  View from gardens!
Secure shade parking
Things to do 'Fur seals'
Walkway to private beach
Bedroom leading onto patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hermanus, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Margarete...
Bad Zwischenahn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wave and Whale Watching”
Reviewed December 31, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a wonderful time. It's a beautiful furnished apartment with a well equipped kitchen (additional icing on the cake: a gas grill on the balcony) on the second floor. We felt rightaway like home. Very nice landlady. Internet available for 50 ZAR/1GB. We had good time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aussicht
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beethoven...
Lesotho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The place is sily magnificent, what is advertised is what you get, views and whales were amazing and people really friendly, the place is spotless, quite and a must visit, awesome value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and setting and location
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyandal...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We didn't stay long enough”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked one night at 31 Tobago as part of our tour of the Western Cape. Big mistake ! we should have booked longer, in fact the tour should have lasted longer anyway.

The approach to the property was a bit worrying being on the 'wrong side' of the new harbour and having to drive past the Abalone farm, but on arrival at the complex all our doubts were dispelled.

The condo is furnished to a very high standard and extremely comfortable, covered car parking is a bonus. If you have limited mobility this may not be the apartment for you as you need to climb a couple of flights of stairs, but if that is not an issue it is worth the climb. There are great views of the coast and although some guests have seen whales from the balcony we were not so fortunate. (A boat trip soon put that right though).

A 5 minute drive puts you into the heart of Hermanus with its restaurants whale watching etc.

This is a great apartment, quiet and secure, don't be put of by the location, it is away from the centre and associated noise etc.
Corrie is very helpful and we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Not enough time
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bintik
muscat oman
1 review
“Superb and homely”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Very homely and clean accommodation with brilliant sea views. Will definitely return as 4 days wasn't enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: breakfast with a sea view.
Liked least: Climbing the stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2014
Thanks Ine, hope you are all well. Have all the family with me. Theo, Marjan and their children and girlfriend have now gone off to Addo. Ben in the Drakensberg, and then on the 7th Feb the whole lot will congregate here in Hermanus until the 14th. Even Richard and Madeleine are arriving on the 11th. Rented three houses close by. We will take lots of pics but i think it is going to be hectic. Rene bringing everyone including the grandchildren. I have even met Wendy's family yet. Lots of love Corrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainGo...
Stamford
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magnificent views from lovely apartment!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely lovely apartment. Overlooks gorgeous rocky coast with crashing waves that lull you to sleep.
All the amenities and reasonable rates run by a lovely lady who lives off site.
We were slightly concerned at the approach road past a couple of factories but once through the gates the fabulous setting was worth the mild anxiety.
We had to drive a very short way to the New Harbour where there were two great restaurants. Would love to return some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra J
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem of a find....”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We were travelling along the Garden Route and as such were staying in mainly hotels or BB's so for our three nights in Hermanus decided to opt for the self-catering alternative. What a great find 31 Tobago Bay was, situated in a managed complex with lovely gardens, good laundry facilities, swimming pool and walkways to the sea front although slightly out of town it is extremely well positioned.
The apartment itself was really well equipped, comfortable with a great balcony (with a braai should you feel the need to bbq) that could be accessed from both the living area (which was a lot larger that it looks in the pictures) or the bedroom, with the window open the crashing of the waves lulled you to sleep.
After an extremely long drive from Oudtshorn which saw us getting lost - Corrie the owner who had arranged to meet us - was very understanding of our late arrival and even went out of her way to let us follow her to the nearest supermarket to stock up on supplies!
This is an ideal place to stay as a base to explore the Heramus area with the freedom of self catering allowing long lies things to be taken at your own pace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet.
Liked least: Smallish bath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue163
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent a very enjoyable short stay at this well appointed apartment.
We saw whales from the beach on the far side of the bay so we achieved our ambition. Also we were lucky to have a whale swim up to the harbour wall while we were at The Rock restaurant.
We would like to point out that the facilities were not quite as described. There was no grill be it charcoal or otherwise or dryer, but we did discover the laundry in the nearby public building beside the rather sad pool.
The apartment did not have a garden or patio as it was on the second floor. What it did have was a superb open-air balcony but a bbq grill on that was what we had expected.
We were given a sign-in for the WiFi but this needed funding and we did not have information on how to do this. I did not like to contact Corrie because I had had to contact her while she was in a meeting when we needed to gain initial access to the apartment and she wasn't best pleased and she did not make contact to check everything was ok. We only heard from her at the end of our stay to give us instructions on where to leave the key.
However, we did enjoy our stay and it was good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position
Liked least: no welcome pack or bbq
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing