We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely course”
Review of Hermanus Golf Club

Hermanus Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Unfortunately we visited when SA Amateur Open was taking place so only nine holes available for general play. The club was able to fit us in so we had several rounds over holes nineteen to twenty seven. Very friendly staff on the course and in the clubhouse.

Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

The course is nice and well architected, mostly well maintained. As first time players we missed signs directing us to the next tee as well as depicting the holes (19-27). The pull carts were just ok with squeaky wheels. The staff not friendly, neither in the pro shop nor in the halfway house. With rank 42 on the GolfDigest list I think this course is overrated.

1  Thank wally-fighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Manager at Hermanus Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your positive, as well as constructive comments.
The lack of directional signage is currently being looked at. We would like to point out that we are however reluctant to erect too much signage on the golf course as this detracts from the natural beauty of the course.

Your feedback regarding the squeaky wheels of the pull carts has been brought to the attention of our resident Professional, who manages the pull trolleys.

We value our many returning golfers and it is certainly our aim to provide a professional, friendly and welcoming service. It is therefore vital that we receive feedback in order to continuously advance in everything that we do.

We have addressed the unfriendly temperament you experienced at our Club with our pro shop as well as our halfway house staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future to truly experience the Hermanus Golf Club as it should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Not without its challenges, but this is a great members course where they are also welcoming to visitors. Lovely to play of fairways with lush grass, some harsh hang ups around the green, but a lovely course with some great views and just enough challenge to keep that balance between giving you a good chance at a score and breaking your heart...

Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A lovely course with challenging holes. A bit windy when we played but reminded us of home!! A layout of 27 holes and we played 1 to 18.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Having played this course many times in the past, I was somewhat disappointed with my visit yesterday.
On checking in I became aware of a problem with an elderly golfer who claimed he had booked a golf cart, but was told there was no record of his reservation and all carts were booked out. Whilst this was one persons word against another's, I felt there was rather a dismissive response to his problem. The staff in the Pro Shop now seem to attach more importance to efficiency than friendliness which is a pity.
After I had checked in I wanted a scorecard for the courses I would be playing so that I could mark it up with players names, etc whilst having a drink before the game. I was virtually dismissed by staff in the starters' area, telling me they would be available on the tee, which of course was not what I wanted to hear. In the event when we got to the tee the starter had ran out of cards, using the excuse that all players in the previous three matches wanted one. Excuse me, but don't all players usually want a scorecard. The starter was not really prepared to assist until I told him I was not prepared to play without a scorecard. He eventually agreed and said he would bring each player one before we reached the first green, but this was only after pressure being put on him as he clearly did not want to bother.
The course itself is an excellent lay-out, but on this occasion, as opposed to previous visits the majority of the greens were in a relatively poor condition, nowhere near matching the quality of the practice green and appeared to be suffering from overuse. A number of the fairways were in bad shape with large areas being marked as ground under repair.
Since my last visit a year ago, the quality of the course has gone downhill. Staff now seem to have lost sight of the fact that they are there to provide a high quality and friendly approach to visitors. Some appear to have become over rigid in their approach in their attempt to be professional where others in the starters hut and on the tees have lost interest in their role of providing good customer care and now only seem interested in hurrying people around the course as fast as they can. For instance, they were waiting outside the halfway house, warning them to hurry up and take only ten minutes. This is understood, but could have been done in a much more friendly way, especially as, when we got to the tenth tee, two matches were queuing up. It seems the club has now grown beyond the professionalism and ability of many staff coming into contact with customer. Some training in a range of skills, especially in the area of customer care is essential if an increase in concern from players is not to occur soon. Hermanus is too good a course to boycott, but staff should not take their customers for granted.

1  Thank Aceputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Manager at Hermanus Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We are saddened to hear that that you had a disappointing experience at our golf course and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

On the day in question, great effort was made to assist the gentleman you referred to and two golf carts were found and allocated to his use before teeing off.
The unfriendly manner in which this issue was initially dealt with has been addressed with the relevant staff members.

The date on which you played, was the day before the start of the week-long SA Amateur Championship at Hermanus Golf Club. Recent unseasonal heavy rain necessitated the marking of the course by the Tournament Organisers as ‘play as you lie’ would be enforced.
Our golf course has received extremely favourable reviews from the 144 amateurs, competing this week, which included top notch international competitors.

As our golf course is often fully booked and we want to ensure that everybody has an enjoyable game within the required time-frame, we are sometimes placed under pressure to try and get everybody through on time. Regrettably this often results in golfers feeling hurried and rushed and in staff training we attempt to address this issue.

We value our customers and take immense pride in our facility and will continue to endeavour to provide a professional, friendly and welcoming service.
It is therefore disheartening to hear that on the day of play we did not meet your expectations and we want you to know that we shall address the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermanus Golf Club also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Hermanus Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing