We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manager called me a racist, had to summon the police over the bill”

Two Oceans Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Manager called me a racist, had to summon the police over the bill”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a perfectly lovely lunch here with my partner, food was fine and the servers were great. Our foreign card was not accepted by their machine, as we were calling the bank to clear the block the manager became incensed and began screaming at us, calling me a racist and anti-South African, completely unprovoked. As frequent visitors to this great country we were obviously offended. He then summoned the police! Staff from our hotel (The Marine Hotel, thank you!) had to come to rescue us from the chaos and pay the angry man, and assured us they would never again recommend this restaurant to their guests. Ruined our afternoon and tainted our fond memories of Hermanus. Don't give these people your business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    11
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good views over hermanus bay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

had a lovely lunch here,sitting outside with a lovely view.fresh seafood at a reasonable price,staff attentive.price to quality ratio spot on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Watching whales while eating fish!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this delightfull eatery right near the sea. We ate the well presented fish and chips with salads, while watching the whales in the bay. The food was really well done and the service efficient, friendly, and fast. Yes, it is not a fine dining establishment, but for good value for money, this just cant be beat in Hermanus

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reuben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bures. UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sit and watch the sea whilst eating fish”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stopped off in Hermanus on our way back to Stellenbosch from Arniston. There are good sea views from under the parasols. We had grilled Kingklip which was excellent and a chicken sandwich which was disappointing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

friendly staff, quick service and very reasonable prices. walking distance from town centre parking easy on the day

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownRiebeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Oceans Restaurant also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Two Oceans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing