We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay
Ranked #13 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lemon Butta is one of Hermanus' best-loved restaurants, boasting the best sushi, delicious seafood and perfect grills. With breathtaking views of the entire Bay, it is also one of the best places for whale watching!
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had extremely good food and excellent service from a waiter who spoke 6 languages.
My fillet steak were perfection and my wife said her sweet 'n sour hake were the best hake dish she ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon-Butta, Owner at LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of our restaurant. Hoping to see you here again so we can escalate your next experience to a perfect score! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
There are newer reviews for LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 773 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Do yourself a flavour and try the Ginger Chilli Linefish at Lemon Butta, its a new flavour experience. Reasonably priced well prepared and presented Sushi as well! Friendly knowledgeable staff, good service well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon-Butta, Owner at LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! Our Ginger Chilli Linefish is gaining momentum in popularity and we are very grateful for the mention. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was recommended to us by our hotel based on previous guests feedback and we were not disappointed.
As this was "off-season" we didn't need to book for an evening meal but I would imagine during busy season you would need to book in advance as it was still quite busy!
The food was excellent and enjoyed by all five of us - they also had some very nice wines on the menu that went very well with the seafood!
Highly recommend the calamari starter (tubes with chilli) and nice crème brulee!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon-Butta, Owner at LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thanks so much for this awesome review! Very happy to hear we are getting it right! Much appreciation, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had sushi for lunch, which was excellent. The sushi was fresh, well prepared and good portions, we enjoyed it! So we decided to have dinner here the day after as well and made a reservations. They warned us that it was fully booked but had one table left, we took it. It wqs very busy and therefore the service rushed. The food, a nice fish platter, was really good (a bit too much for two) but we felt rushed by the waiters and not just the one who helped us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joukje J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon-Butta, Owner at LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We take pride in our sushi and we are happy to hear we are producing a product that is up to your standard. I am very sorry you guys felt rushed at your dinner! There is absolutely no reason for the waiters to have rushed you and I am very angry about this. I will definitely be bringing this up (and reminding them over and over) at our weekly meetings. Hoping to have you dine with us again! Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our Guide Tony mentioned 4 places in town that were really good to eat at. Many tourist places he said to stay away from. This restaurant is on the 2nd floor of a shopping area. crowded and noisy, we were there during the whale festival. We had the calamari, dim sum prawn, malay prawn curry and the goan seafood curry. All the food was well done. Our wine was the Hamilton Russell Pinot, very good for South African reds. This was a very nice place for a small town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Baba-Kahawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing