We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hake and Chips.”

LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay
Ranked #13 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lemon Butta is one of Hermanus' best-loved restaurants, boasting the best sushi, delicious seafood and perfect grills. With breathtaking views of the entire Bay, it is also one of the best places for whale watching!
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hake and Chips.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Amazing views, good hake and chips.service friendly and good.
Haven't tried anything else there not a big fish eater. But I believe the sushi is good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    450
    160
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best tuna.....ever”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely setting, overlooking the seafront. We had the best tuna last year and returned to see if the standard was maintained. It was! A must-go for any diners in the Hermanus area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank drjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner with great view of bay”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved the food and the view at this restaurant. Also, they catered to our dietary needs. Reasonable prices with nice portions and quality preparation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow excellent Sushi!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow this was one of the best restaurants we ate at during our two weeks in South Africa.... the Sushi was half price and the service was excellent......a must if visiting Hermanus...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauliehickeyfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitung, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Marks to Lemon Butta!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place can get quite busy, so reservations are imperative if you want to sit by the windows for the superb view, or get any table on weekends when the town swells with visitors. As our favourite eatery over four days spent in Hermanus - where all of our meals were very good - we came back for seconds and ate exactly what we had the first visit! Excellent sushi, attentive and friendly service, decent price.... top marks all around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to LB Seafood Bistro on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing