We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Hermanus Dorpshuys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Ranked #1 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice stay, nice welcome, and very comfortable inn. A step back in time to an old British-like setting. The owners are very attentive and helpful. We found this guest house through Trip Advisor and were not disappointed, as the reviews correspond to what we experienced as guests.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your time to review your stay with us at Hermanus Dorpshuys. It is as advertised on our website that our furnishing is a mix of antique and modern as we like it. The most important is that you have experienced exactly what other reviewers have experienced as per your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 407 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed wirh Hermanus Dorpshuys for 2 night and had a wonderfull time there. The hosts offer much more than just bed and breakfast. Very lovely place with nice furniture! You have to try the Sherry you get offered. Thank you so much for this warm welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your time spent to review your stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed the interior decoration of the house, everything was well searched for. The sherry is for sweet dreams. Thank you for you favourable response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at Hermanus Dorpshuys in October 2013. Very clean, neat, efficient and friendly service. Koos and Cecilia goes out of their way to make visitors feel welcome and offers welcome local advice. I enjoyed the breakfast the next morning - complete with toast, egg, bacon, just the way I like it. There is also a choice of cereal and fruits. The food was freshly prepared to order, as it should be.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Hannes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your time to review your stay at Hermanus Dorpshuys. As a guesthouse owner, you understand the importance of feedback. We are glad that you had the experience as described in your review and to share it with other Tripadvisor viewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay at Dorpshuys was nothing but superb. Koos and Celia made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Rooms are impeccably clean and luxurious and the cleaning staff are very friendly.

The guest house is situated at the end of a quiet street and is ideal for those who are looking for a break away from city life. This is true value for money and should be rated a 5 star establishment in my opinion.

And lastly, make sure you sit down for breakfast at least once during your stay. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you very much for the time spent to do a review of your visit at Hermanus Dorpshuys. This review will lift the spirit of any owner on a very difficult day. We are glad that you had a superb experience with us. We really look forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a beautyful place to stay! Koos & Cecilia gave us a warm welcome and did all possible to make us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious and wonderful presented. Do not miss the homemade muffin!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gopio2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We really appreciate the time spent to review your stay with us. We are glad that you have found it an excellent experience. It is good to know that you will remember us with good memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

At last, after 2 poor experiences when staying in Hermanus, we have found somewhere that we can feel very comfortable in. Koos and Cecilia have created an excellent guest house by thinking of how they would like to feel in it themselves. The room (no 3 I think) was very large with a lovely bathroom. The beds were so comfortable and the place was so quiet. It is just a few minutes walk to the town centre, and you need that after such wonderful breakfasts. I agree with a previous reviewer breakfasts are VERY generous in size and top quality food. Cecilia ensures there is a certain amount of style to it all. Koos and Cecilia are lovely hosts, very helpful and friendly, nothing is a problem to them. Next time we will stay 4 nights! Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you very much for the time spent to review your excellent stay at Hermanus Dorpshuys. It is really a priviledge to receive a review like your's. It is good for our team's morale that they are appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unfortunately when we arrived we were not expected as there had been a blip in the system. This was soon sorted by Cecilia and Koos and we were given a lovely big room with a massive bathroom so we were very pleased with that. It was just a shame we only had limited time at Hermanus. When we left we were given a brilliant tip ... to visit Betty's Bay for the penguins and we were not disappointed, it was brilliant. We were going to rush back to Cape Town & visit Boulder's Bay before we left but there was no need, so thank you for that. Hermanus itself is lovely but again due to time restraints we didn't have as much time to explore as we would have liked. Managed to spot whales from the cliff path so that was good too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieBis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for the time spent to do a review of your stay with us. We are glad that you had a very good experience and that you could take some positive memories of Hermanus back with you. We trust that you will return one day to Hermanus to explore more of our paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#2 of 88 in Hermanus
545 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#9 of 88 in Hermanus
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#5 of 88 in Hermanus
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Dorpshuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Dorpshuys

Address: 20 Hill Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $80 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Dorpshuys 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose built guest house, elegantly furnished with a mix of antique and modern. Full English breakfast included in dining room or on veranda overlooking the Klein river Mountain. Four double suites and one twin (can be converted to double). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hermanus Dorpshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing