We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be!!!!”
Review of Hermanus Dorpshuys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Ranked #1 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was on a business trip November 2012 , Cecilia and her husband Koos were amazing host
The room was excellence very nice and clean, they have the best bed i have ever sleep on , so so comfy.Breakfast was great and their attention made my days there much better.
I was very busy working didn't have time go around and buy some souvenirs,but Cecilia and Koos were so kind to offer me their help to go end get some souvenirs for my family and friends.
They are great people and their B&B is the best I ever been.
For all of you who are not sure where to go....Don't miss out, you will enjoy this place on 101%
Regards
Bogi

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for the time to review your experience at our guesthouse. It is always a pleasure to be helpful to our guests and to build a lasting relation with them. The experiences of our guests is our advertisement for more future success. That can only be earned through good experiences from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 389 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during our trip along the Garden Route in November 2012.
From the second we arrived to the second we left, Cecilia and Koos were amazing hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, from helping us book trips and restaurants to taking our laundry to the dry cleaners! The room was immaculate and the antique furniture was stunning but it was the special little touches such as the chocolates on the pillows, the fresh milk in the fridge and the bottle of fizz that made the room truly amazing. The freshly made breakfast was truly scrumptious and Cecilia your muffins were yummy and will definitely be using you recipe over christmas. Overall the property was stunning and had a very homely feel to it. By far the best guest house we have ever stayed in. Thanks again Cecilia and Koos!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VineshAndShivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you very much for the time to review your stay with us. Reviews like yours keep us going & help us to set goals as a team to be one of the best in the hospitality industry. We are glad that you had the experience as described in your review. We wish you just success with the new phase in your life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

5* service from a B&B - the best I've stayed in.
Cecilia and Koos really couldn't do enough for us, they were so friendly without being intrusive - the perfect balance. The rooms were excellent and probably one of the best beds I've slept in, ever! Breakfast was superb and their attention to detail in all aspects was second to none. It was a real pleasure staying with them and I was a little sad to be leaving.
If I was ever near Hermanus again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for finding the time to do a review for us. We really appreciate it. We are glad that you had the experience as you has described in your review and that we as a team could have been part of it. We look forward to your next visit to Hermanus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The hosts run their business as everyone should, with the guests best intentions always in mind. We loved the beautuful house and the pretty backyard and the spotless rooms but what i liked even more was how we were treated like special guests. It was both a great bargin and a winderful experience too. Thank you to our hosts who went well beyond what was expected to make our trip to sa special.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoestringdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. The best interest of our guests is always our goal and to send our guests away with a good experience of Hermanus. We feel that we have reached that goal as a team, when we receive a review like yours, mentioning that you felt special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

In a quiet street just off the main road the guest house is perfectly located at walking distance from the best spots for whale watching. Warm welcoming hosts and immacculately clean and comfortable place to stay with a great breakfast. Definitely would choose to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you very much for the time spent to do a review for us. It was a priviledge to have guests like yourselves, whom enjoyed the tranquility where we are situated and everything that Hermanus has to offer. We look forward to your next visit to Hermanus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

After 3 weeks travelling all over South Africa my father and I stumbled across the Hermanus Dorphuys by accident and what a fantastic stay we had.

We were in a twin room which was large with a seating area with 2 chairs table and lamp. There was a fridge with not only fresh milk but also fresh fruit!

The bathroom again was spacious with lovely products which were replaced ever day even if we had not finished then.

We went out for dinner after we had checked in and on our return we found the room had been tidied up again, the bins emptied, the tea tray replenished, choclotes laid on bed and a pair of slippers placed by our beds and the lights were switched on ready for our return. This truly is 5*, I have not seen this anywhere else we stayed during our whole holiday.

Breakfast was to start a old buffet with a choice of cereals, delicious homemade muffins, yoghurt stewed fruit, breads and. Selection of cheeses. While we ate Hesse Koos was in the Kitchen coking our cooked English Breakfast, we stayed here 3 nights and never did we need to eat lunch after those breakfast!

Celia and Koos are just the friendliest and most caring people and of course full of information on what to do and where to go.

This is a true bed and breakfast in the sense that the rooms are in the main house, I found that the term bed and breakfast is used quick losely in South Africa, where the rooms are located in separate areas or units away from the main house and that breakfast may be served in the main house.

The service and quality of the Dorphuys in my opion is worthy of 5* at least! Celia and Koos even sent us an email to make sure we arrived at our next destination on Beafort West safetly and then the next day another email with ideas of what to do when we arrived in Bloemfontein.

I will come back for sure !

Room Tip: The house is all on one level, I was travelling with my Elderly dad who has some mobility issues so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Words cannot express our appreciation fot the blasting review that you has given us.You and your father understood what we are aiming for, noticed and appreciated the effort that our team has put in to make your stay an experience to remember. It gave us great work satisfaction, to discover that we have succeeded in it.We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Awesome weekend at The Dorpshuys !!!!! The bed helped a lot the little for a weekend of R & R , Also the little things chocalate on the bed . Koos and Cecilia is a delightful couple . They treat their guest as a family member . My husband and i will certainly be staying with Koos and Cecilia on our next visit to Hermanus

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for the time to do a review of your stay at our guest house. We work as a team together to make our guests visit special to be remembered as an experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
0.6 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Dorpshuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Dorpshuys

Address: 20 Hill Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $82 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Dorpshuys 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose built guest house, elegantly furnished with a mix of antique and modern. Full English breakfast included in dining room or on veranda overlooking the Klein river Mountain. Four double suites and one twin (can be converted to double). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hermanus Dorpshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing