We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hermanus Dorpshuys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Ranked #1 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I had a fantastic stay at the Hermanus Dorpshuys Guest House. I arrive at Koos and Cecilia's doorstep quite early on a Monday morning. The reception was hearty, welcoming and they were ready to make a room available. The room was very comfortable and my hosts friendly and willing to adhere to all my requests. I will definately join you again soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank San-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for the warm review, our guests are our most important asset. Look forward to the next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
248
22
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The elegant Hermanus Dorpshuys combines attentive service, modern comforts yet old world charm, all within luxurious setting. A stroll away from midtown, cliffpaths, fashionable boutiques, restaurants and a 27 hole golf course. Excellent English breakfast! Thank you very much to Koos and Cecilia, owners of this most recommendable guest house. Coenie and Tina Western Cape

Room Tip: Room 2 is recommended as a large, warm and sunny winter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkie312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for review, can only be established by teamwork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela Bela, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at Hermanus Dorpshuys for one night in June. Our room was stylish and very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. We particularly liked the double shower. There is much atention to detail and and the breakfast was great and well presented. Our hosts, Koos and Cecilia, made our stay a memorable one.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for your review, we will always work to maintain a favourable customer standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Very clean, new house. Fabulous breakfast. And the owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaenjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Friends of mine were staying there for 6 nights in December and from the minute I called to ask if they had accommodation for us, they moved heaven & earth to get us in and I am not sorry, the most friendly people ever plus the best sleep I have had in months. The bed was so comfortable I could have taken it home with me. The breakfast was great as well and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. I cannot wait to go back and neither can my friends. I COULD FAULT NOTHING !!!!! - It is only a few minutes away by car to the shopping centre and beach. THANK YOU FOR A LOVELY STAY.......

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stitson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you, we will keep the quality of your stays always on the highest level, regards, Koos & Cecilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Very charming B&B with friendly hosts, who look after their guest with great pleasure.
Rooms are very nice and breakfast is delicious and rich.
Not far from center of Hermanus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marforel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you, we will keep the quality of your stays always on the highest level, regards, Koos & Cecilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
3.3 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Dorpshuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Dorpshuys

Property: Hermanus Dorpshuys
Address: 20 Hill Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Dorpshuys 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose built guest house, elegantly furnished with a mix of antique and modern. Full English breakfast included in dining room or on veranda overlooking the Klein river Mountain. Four double suites and one twin (can be converted to double). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hermanus Dorpshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing