We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best vineyards to visit”
Review of Creation Wines

Creation Wines
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ur unique enclave on the scenic Hemel-en-Aarde Ridge is a sought-after wine destination where a warm welcome awaits young and old. Ranging from our knowledgeable and attentive staff and our world-famous Wine and Food Pairing options to elegant touches such as our superior Riedel glassware – everything combines to offer our guests a truly memorable experience. And that includes our younger visitors for whom we cater with a special Young Adults Menu as well as their very own Kiddies Pairing!
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Having visited dozens of Cape wineries I can say that this is one of the best vineyard experiences from almost every perspective - venue, views, food, wine, and service. Whats more the kitchen is open every day until 4pm, which is quite remarkable since it is the last vineyard on this road (coming from the Hermanus side) and involves driving about 10km on a dusty road that is slowly being upgraded to a tarred road. Parts of it have one-way traffic controls and you may have to wait 10 minutes or so. If you are coming from CT I would recommend you go via Caledon and then its the first vineyard you will arrive at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to write a review. We hope you'll be back again soon and hopefully the road leading up to us will be finished soon.

Best Regards
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 677 of 909 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from SA, this place has to be one of the finest experiences of my time there. The paired food and wine tasting was amazing and represented outstanding value for money. We were treated like kings as we ate and drank some of the best food ever! A main course of springbok was simply delicious, accompanying this. The wine professional gave us a top rate insight into the wines and even the chef came out to speak to us! I loved this place and would definitely visit it again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rico311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback Rico. We are so glad that you enjoyed the experience with us and we hope you'll visit again on your next trip to South Africa!

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a real gem. Set on the Creation wine farm in the Hemel and Aarde Valley, Hermanus, this is a must visit when in the area. The food is outstanding. You can either do the food and wine pairing or order from the a le carte menu. Either way you will not be disappointed. All the wines served are from the estate. Being on a wine estate, the views of the vineyards and the dam are outstanding.

Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for the great review Craig. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Creation and look forward to hosting you on your return visit.

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our visit was late in confirmation but we arrived 12:20 on account of the roadworks delay- we promptly ordered the Canapes and a main course.

After 21/2 hrs we ha not yet completion of the VERRRRY slow wine service and Canape pairing - really unacceptable and we felt we were partiallly ignored only being a table of 2 in a corner facing the toilets . ( the larger tables arriving after us received far better service)

The hostess presenting the tastings was good and conversant with the wines.

By the time we received our main course around 14:45 ( 2,5h rs after arriving) we had lost our appetite for buying wines .

My assessment - We were badly disappointed = - a significantly prolonged delay in service ,

The wine/food pairing was good but 8 winestastings in 2,25 hrs really extremely slow and unacceptable.

Will we visit again - maybe - but the restaurant management needs serious attention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FairCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Faircape,

We must apologise for the extremely slow service on Saturday, this was due to an IT misfunction on our POS and not realizing that orders that had been processed, were not reaching the kitchen.

We were also severely understaffed due to staff being sick and improper scheduling. We have rectified these issues and this should not occur in the future.

We would like to welcome you back to Creation as our normal level of service is usually impeccable. Please forward your email address to Salome or Carolyn@creationwines.com.

Thank you for your review and letting us know.
Wishes Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

On our trip through the "hemel en aarde vallei" we stopped for a lunch at Creation wines.
A very good lunch with nice wines to taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for the great feedback Fred. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa.

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creation Wines also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Creation Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing