We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, wine, chocolate and staff”
Review of Creation Wines

Creation Wines
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ur unique enclave on the scenic Hemel-en-Aarde Ridge is a sought-after wine destination where a warm welcome awaits young and old. Ranging from our knowledgeable and attentive staff and our world-famous Wine and Food Pairing options to elegant touches such as our superior Riedel glassware – everything combines to offer our guests a truly memorable experience. And that includes our younger visitors for whom we cater with a special Young Adults Menu as well as their very own Kiddies Pairing!
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We wanted to visit Creation because a family friend recommended it. It was quite the drive (the road leading to it were lined w/ vineyards) but definitely worth the extra time it took to get there.
We arrived only a few minutes before closing (we knew this and therefore just wanted to buy a few bottles) but the amazing staff (Ryan?) insisted we sit and gave us a full tasting, even though it was after hours. I was so impressed with his kindness, knowledge and of course, really impressed with the wine.
We appreciated him staying with us so much that we actually decided to make the drive again the next day for lunch! This time, we did the food pairing (they do an excellent job) and then decided to do the chocolate pairing....this chocolate was AMAZING (they told us that the people who make the chocolate specifically make it just for these wines so that they pull out the most flavors in each other as possible). My husband is not a chocolate fan and he was raving about it (the one they pair w/ the Merlot is out of this world).
The setting of vineyard is absolutely beautiful. If you have the time, this is a definite must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeAnna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

It was our pleasure hosting you two days in a row! Thank you so much for visiting us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that you will be back for a return visit when back in SA again!

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 724 of 915 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

When in the aerea a nice place to visit, nice architecture great situated, they working on the road, so better to reach in future , well run family restaurant. Can have wine and food pairing, we enjoyed the visit.....

Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your trip to us Thomas! Visit again soon!

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had seen write ups of Creation in the local press and decided to find them to have lunch whilst wine tasting near Hermanus. Do persevere, as others have said the road is under construction, and the windy drive leading up to the restaurant is full of pot holes. They offer wine tasting and lunch. We found the food well presented and tasty. Excellent service, lovely views - worth finding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roslyn105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We are really so pleased that you persevered and visited us on the Estate and got to enjoy all that we have to offer!

We hope you return again soon!

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This beautiful winery, set in a lovely area above Hermanus, is an oasis. Vineyard, lake, wild flowers & bird life a plenty, this is a relaxing place, where you can sit outside in comfort, sip good wine & admire the view.
We enjoyed a wine tasting paired with delicious canapés. All the wine we tried was excellent & we have even ordered some wine to be delivered back in the UK.
Really good value, Natasha was lovely lady, passionate about her wines & it showed.highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed you visit with us Chris! Enjoy the wines and think of us when sipping on a glass or two when back in the UK!

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were interested in Creation wines, so we decided to try it. First of all, the road to reach it is under construction, rocks and sand. But once you get there, you will be surrounded by beautiful vineyards, little lake and lovely restaurant. The food did not meet our expectations, but the wine they produce is wonderful. Cool atmosphere and nice staff. Worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting us, we are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your full experience with us but hope you will return when back in South Africa again so that we can try to better your experience.

Best Wishes
Team Creation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creation Wines also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Creation Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing