We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine and dining”
Review of Creation Wines

Creation Wines
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ur unique enclave on the scenic Hemel-en-Aarde Ridge is a sought-after wine destination where a warm welcome awaits young and old. Ranging from our knowledgeable and attentive staff and our world-famous Wine and Food Pairing options to elegant touches such as our superior Riedel glassware – everything combines to offer our guests a truly memorable experience. And that includes our younger visitors for whom we cater with a special Young Adults Menu as well as their very own Kiddies Pairing!
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed a super meal of pickled mushroom salad and goats cheese which was excellend. The portion was small for a lunch. The wines were great we had a sav blanc to accompany the meal. We enjoyed a wine tasting at the table - a great diffrenece is that they serve each wine in a different shaped glass a real treat! The 4 of us enjoyed the meal. The views are breath taking! Worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your visit to Creation Rob and for taking the time to write a review! We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 769 of 909 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

It makes such a difference when you come across a sales person who is passionate about what he sells. Recently, my wife and I ended up at Creation Wines tasting room after having made a stop at two other wine estates along the H&A wine route. All the wines we tasted along the way were excellent but not once were we met with the enthusiasm and friendliness of the Creation Wines representatives. In fact leaving a farm earlier on the route my wife commented as we drove out of the estate that one would think they were doing us a favour letting us taste their wines. They did not see us as potential customers and neither were we encouraged to buy their wines. Their attitude was, you either like it or you don't! How strange!
The opposite at Creation Wines. Here was an estate dedicated to making their customers feel welcome as they guide you through the tasting of their stunning varieties. The salesperson looking after us was more interested in what wines we liked to drink than selling us every wine on their list. His product knowledge was profound and though we had only just met he made it his mission to find out more about us and our preferences in wine. We ended up buying 3 cases of our favourite - merlot. We will be back and on his recommendation we look forward to tasting their pinot noir that is about to be released
Well done Creation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oupa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Oupa R
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our Creation hospitality and we do look forward to welcoming you back. Wishing you and your family a wonderful festive season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having heard good things Creation was a real disappointment. Firstly, there is no pairing menu as typically understood. There is a wine tasting accompanied by canapés and then there is a limited lunch menu. The surroundings are very picturesque, but the execution of the canapé / tasting concept was (based on our experience) shocking. A canapé platter with paired wine tasting only works if you have enough staff covering tables so that people dont have to wait upto 10 minutes between each canapé. You either staff properly or dont do it. The poor execution here ruined a potentially good concept and left us frustrated. Next, while we understand the importance of vineyards cross selling different products in difficult times, having pieces of paper variously on vineyard tours, safari, food products, wine bottle protectors etc. (i.e. not re the wine - which we got too) constantly pushed in our faces while we were trying to taste the wine (when it did arrive) was just ridiculous - we barely managed to keep straight faces while during the fourth or fifth leaflet drop the salesman/waiter explained the importance of the estate's low carbon footprint while shovelling more paper onto the table. The focus was entirely on sales and not at all on the experience of the diner (the salesman/waiter was not dissimilar to Swiss Tony and the level of sales was about what I'd expect on a used car lot, not in a restaurant).

Despite the canapé / tasting disaster, and on the basis our salesman/waiter appeared to have now run out of stationary, we decided to persevere and try a main course each along with a bottle of 2011 Syrah, Grenache (which, along with the Viognier, was very good). Sadly both the mains were a disappointment, certainly not poor, but not worth the trip.

All in all, a few good wines, but try them in the wine shop in Hermanus and eat elsewhere. Save yourself the trip (and possibly a rainforest or two at the same time).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Andy-8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your review,

I will be taking your comments into careful consideration, please let me know the date you visited and send me your email address so that I can respond.

Kind Regards
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visited the Creation winery in October 2012. It was a Sunday and few if any other wineries were open. We arrived early (10:15) but soon saw the very good lunch menu. We were lucky to get a table as the winery was very busy. We managed to spin out the excellent wine tasting until
lunchtime and then had an excellent lunch with more wine. The food choice was very good and imaginative. The staff were very attentive and friendly despite being busy. We eventually left at 3:15 having had a really good day out. I should also say that the location and the venue are stunning. This is an essential visit if you are in or around Hermanus. The road to it is an unsurfaced track for a while but persistence is rewarded.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BLSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear BLSSurrey

It was wonderful to read you lovely feedback, thank you for taking the time. I am glad to hear you managed to sit back and enjoy all we had to offer and the spectacular food,wine and views. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Creation wine estate is really beautiful, then you walk into the restaurant, which is also beautifully decorated and has a very light, comfortable atmosphere. The waitresses were very friendl and helpful. We had the food and wine pairing which was so deliecious and beautifully presented! I expected to pay a lot more than I did. The Chardonnay is the best I've ever tasted, and is reasonably priced.
I would recommend Creation to anyone in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Creation Wines, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Michelle F

Thank you for your feedback and compliments. Please join us again, perhaps for a secret food and wine pairing, where we will surprise you with an array of innovative dishes.We look forward to seeing you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creation Wines also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Creation Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing