We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven in the Hemel en aarde Valley”
Review of Creation Wines

Creation Wines
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven in the Hemel en aarde Valley”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

It is set in awesome scenery, does a great platter to complement different wines.The lunch menu is good especially accompanied by one of the wines

Helpful?
1 Thank Tweet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    148
    45
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So good we went back again”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This wine estate has a pairing menu - 7 items each with a different wine, or you can eat a fabulous antipasto platter plus a few light meals. Food very fresh, the selection of meats and cheeses on the platter was superb.
We went twice in the week because we enjoyed it so much. The wines are magnificent - all rate very highly - we bought 3 cases of different whites and reds.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerP138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Firstly, what I didn't like about it: it was 7km up a red dirt road in a hired Ford Figo with a £600 excess.
Secondly, I was driving the aforementioned so was limited to how much I could drink.
What I liked: Everything else.
The vineyard is paradise.
Everything is relatively new; its only been here about 7 years.
In the UK this place would be mobbed by thousands of people or you would have to put your name down at birth to visit.
Here there were only a sprinkling of people on the midweek lunchtime we arrived.
The setting is superb, the wines remarkably good (SA wines have come-on so far in the last few years & in the mid to mid-high price range are a match for any in the world).They will let you sample as much & as many of their wines as you like (all in Reidle glasses). There is also a tasting menu matched to a different wine for each course. There are other light lunch options. All at very reasonable prices (compared to UK).
You can also buy wine by the glass/bottle/case.
Service was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.
As you might have guessed, I loved it & if it was nearer home, I'd go every day.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMac101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good wines in great countryside!”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I've been to Creation for several wine tastings including a wine tasting and food pairing evening...always enjoyable, in great surroundings.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best wine tasting. Ever.”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Pamela was informative, fun and cheerful. Wine good, view great, service brilliant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Apeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creation Wines also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Creation Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing