We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bamboo dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bamboo Guest House
Ranked #6 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Commugny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bamboo dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent guest house!! Modern design with very nice bamboo decoration, absolutely special. During our trip to South Africa we spent several nights in different hotels and Bamboo was just the best. Congratulations to very kind owners. The breakfast was very good also. However the hotel is not located in downtown of Hermanus there is only 50-100m to wonderful cliff path, amazing place for walking. We fully recommend and for sure would stay once again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ewa_gr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    46
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
254
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in Hermanus, great location - only a short drive from the town. Sue and Jim were fantastic hosts and so welcoming. The decor is beautiful, rooms are a good size, lovely bathroom, balcony and everything is extremely clean.

The garden and swimming pool were beautifully kept too. The breakfast is fantastic - lovely fresh fruit to start with natural yogurt, great selection of cereals and a full English fry up too!

The same as many reviewers, I cannot think of anything to fault about the Bamboo Guest House!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nealamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We felt very welcome by the very nice hosts and enjoyed our stay at this place a lot. Our room was quiet and comfortable with everything we needed. The pool area is cozy and the breakfast was very delicious. We recommended this guest house while our trip to other travellers and would definetely recommend it again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greece_08_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa and the first place we stayed at and we couldn't have chosen better. We had a great welcome from Jim and Sue, especially as we arrived before 10 o'clock in the morning after an early flight. But following a cup of coffee in the garden, our room was made ready for us.

Everything was excellent here - our lovely room (number 1) with a spacious bathroom, the very good breakfasts, and a pretty little garden with a small pool for relaxing after a day out. Jim and Sue were very helpful if we needed information and I hope we will come back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is probably one of the best guest houses i have ever stayed in and believe me, I had stayed in quite a few. The decor, cleanliness and attention to detail were superb. We joined our hosts and other guests for a glass of wine under the stars one evening. A delightful experience and no charge for the wine!
Our room and bathroom were huge.
The garden and swimming pool were lovely.
I cannot think of anything to fault about the Bamboo Guest House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Bamboo is a beautiful house, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean.
Sue and Jim are wonderful hosts providing the best breakfast we had anywhere on our trip.
The room was large, bright and airy with a beautiful en-suite.
The garden provided a haven of tranquility after a busy day.
Hermanus is a wonderful place to stay for a few days or more whilst exploring the Garden Route and we would thoroughly recommend the Bamboo guest house whilst you are there.
Margaret & Graham

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Bamboo was the start of our 3 week holiday in South Africa, the first time in the country. We spent 2 nights there and it was fantastic. Jim & Sue are lovely attentive hosts and they gave us some great recommendations for the rest of our trip. They serve a lovely breakfast and keep the accomodation immaculate. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. It was a lovely 20 minute walk along the cliffs into town and we thoroughly enjoyed the Tuk Tuk taxi back and forth on an evening when we went for a meal. I would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse and would love to go back in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboStocktononTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guest House

Property: Bamboo Guest House
Address: 303 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House offers the very finest 4 star graded guest house accommodation situated in central Hermanus. Beautiful sea and mountain views, a step away from the famous Hermanus Cliff Paths, at the entrance to the 27 hole Hermanus Golf Course, moments away from Hermanus town centre and all its activities and surrounded by splendid beaches. The entire guest house has been furnished in hand crafted Bamboo furniture which has been custom designed and purpose made for Bamboo Guest House by the family owned business, Bamboo Living. Floors are Bamboo and towels are 50% Bamboo/Cotton mixed fibre. A beautifully landscaped garden and pool area with a custom built bar will reward you with hours of entertainment and relaxation in the Overberg sun. The flow of the home with its spacious living areas lends itself to carefree comfortable living for a sublime holiday at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing