We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long stay at Hermanus”
Review of Bamboo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bamboo Guest House
Ranked #7 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“long stay at Hermanus”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

2/1 - 12/1 2013, ten nights
The guest house is a transformed villa along the eastern main road to Hermanus, about 2 km or twenty minutes walk to the town center. The villa was transformed to a guest house some two years ago and has five guest rooms. The transformation and interior decoration has been done with very good taste, all in real bamboo wood. Even the floors in the rooms had bamboo parquet. The garden is small but very nice with a small but sufficient swimming pool. The cleaning is good and all areas are well kept and clean.
The guest house is run by Sue and Jim. A very friendly, talkable and serviceable couple, who made you feel at home. They make the breakfast which is complete with even eggs and bacon or sausage.
We spent ten days here, longer than most guests, and we really liked it.
This place can be highly recommended.

Room Tip: room 2 has two balconies, one south and one north
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    46
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
256
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our first stay at Bamboo based on the reviews read on Tripadvisor. Jim and Sue are delightful! There service is top-notch and as a result of their amazing cooking skills my husband and I will either have to frequent the gym asap or purchase a new wardrobe. The guest house is immaculate and beautifully furnished. It is kept in pristine condition. We stayed for 7 days and were most reluctant to leave. Many a chat was had with Sue and Jim and they are truly committed to good service all round. My husband and I will definitely visit again, however we will request a room that does not face the main street. We did find this to be noisy (it is a main road) but will certainly not deter us from returning. Possibly an idea is to invest in an aircon for that particular room so that all windows can be closed to gblock out the noise, and the room will still remain cool. Hermanus was far more commercialised than we expected (out first visit) but there are an incredible amount of restaurants to choose from and we will take the entire family back for a family holiday. The beaches are quaint and the cliff paths magnificent. Overall a fabulous experience!

Room Tip: Perhaps a mountain facing room if you are noise intolerant?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been staying here a few days and I am having the best time ever!!!!! The guest house is immaculate. Clean, beautifully decorated, excellent service. As someone who has travelled extensively I am most impressed with the services offered. The entire atmosphere is pleasant and welcoming and the owners will go out of their way to make the guests feel like they are part of the family. Breakfast is also amazing! We are being treated like royalty and fed like them! A wide variety of breakfast foodies is on offer every day starting with a bowl of fresh fruit salad, my favourite! also gooood coffee! Hermanus is a great place to visit, reminds me of Europe but with a bit of something extra and the best place to stay would definately be Bamboo Guest House!!!!

Room Tip: The garden room offers privacy and comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psychokitty444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here in october for just one night, but it was very comfortable and relaxing. Served a great breakfast and Jim and Sue where so helpful with restaurant recommendations and also shared some great stories. Unfortunately the weather was cold and rainy, which was not the normal for this time of year, but we didnt let it put a damper on our stay. Location is good, although I would have preferred to be a little closer to the main part of town. That said, the price was right!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishgalinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed in the Bamboo Guest House in 2011 and decided to come back,this time during
whale season. As the first time,we enjoyed our stay tremendously! The rooms are still beautiful,breakfast is still delicious and Jim and Sue are still great hosts!
We have seen many whales in the bay,while watching from the cliffpath opposite the guesthouse.

Room Tip: There is a room with 2 balconies:one facing the mountains,the other facing the seaside(across the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proftraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in October this year and absolutely loved the place!
The hosts Sue and Jim were so friendly and helpful and we really felt at home!

The place was immaculately clean and our room with balcony was perfect!

Great cooked breakfast in the morning and lots of helpful information about the area, we would highly recommend this guest house to anyone and everyone!

Thanks again for such a lovely stay

Sarah & Tom (UK)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbrad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twello, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent place to stay if you are in Hermanus. Really nice accomodation with great rooms and last but not least: great hosts! The hostst were very helpfull and we wished we could stay a little longer in Hermanus and at this accomodation.

The rooms are very nice and clean and we had a great bathroom with a really big shower. The guesthouse provides also a private parking and it's only a few minutes walking to the coast en the trail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 87 in Hermanus
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guest House

Property: Bamboo Guest House
Address: 303 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House offers the very finest 4 star graded guest house accommodation situated in central Hermanus. Beautiful sea and mountain views, a step away from the famous Hermanus Cliff Paths, at the entrance to the 27 hole Hermanus Golf Course, moments away from Hermanus town centre and all its activities and surrounded by splendid beaches. The entire guest house has been furnished in hand crafted Bamboo furniture which has been custom designed and purpose made for Bamboo Guest House by the family owned business, Bamboo Living. Floors are Bamboo and towels are 50% Bamboo/Cotton mixed fibre. A beautifully landscaped garden and pool area with a custom built bar will reward you with hours of entertainment and relaxation in the Overberg sun. The flow of the home with its spacious living areas lends itself to carefree comfortable living for a sublime holiday at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bamboo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing