We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately we just stayed for 1 night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bamboo Guest House
Ranked #6 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Twello, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unfortunately we just stayed for 1 night”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent place to stay if you are in Hermanus. Really nice accomodation with great rooms and last but not least: great hosts! The hostst were very helpfull and we wished we could stay a little longer in Hermanus and at this accomodation.

The rooms are very nice and clean and we had a great bathroom with a really big shower. The guesthouse provides also a private parking and it's only a few minutes walking to the coast en the trail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    46
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
254
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed only 1 night!!! Wish it could have been more!!! A warm bath, this is what it felt like upon arival, when you meet Sue en Jimmy , beautiful room, and very clean!! An Amazing breakfast. What more is there to tell. This is the place to stay!!
I am in the service industry for 25 years now, and this is the way it should be. This is the blue print

Thanks again

Ewout

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ewout P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
262 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed 1 night on 9-Aug. It was a very cold night and hosts Sue and Jim had the fire going in the lounge. We watch the Olympics all warm and snug - what a bonus. The bamboo decor is absolutely beautiful giving a lovely earthy touch. The bedroom was a bit small but the bed was comfortable. Super delicious breakfast to get us going for the day.

Room Tip: The room with the sea view cost more but it isn't really worth the extra spend. Rather take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

sometimes you have those places you always remember, because of the good atmosphere, the nice hosts, the great food, the nice talks, just everything is right!
And it is just opposite the cliff paths, so if the whales are out, you definately will see them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Bamboo Guest House is a fantastic place to stay when in Hermanus – everything is perfect – location, rooms, food, hosts – All your needs are catered for. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else – do not think twice about booking this accommodation you will not be sorry. Only hope we can get back there again sometime. Thanks so much to Jimmy and Sue for having us stay with you – we enjoyed our nightly chats putting the world to rights over a glass of wine or two !!!

Room Tip: We had room at front of house with balcony which was very nice and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCollopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Small rooms, but well furnished and finished. Clean and modern. Breakfast was continental, but plenty of choice (cereals, yoghurt, fruit, pan au chocolate, croissants etc) with fantastic fresh ground coffee. Host was friendly and greeted us well. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salcheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Staying at the Bamboo guest house was a five star delight both in terms of the facilities as well as being hosted by Sue and Jimmy. It was an absolutely memorable experience on every count. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels around the world, but when coming to the Western Cape I prefer guest houses by far over hotels. They make a very big difference to feeling extremely comfortable and homy. If you are a seasoned 5-star traveler this place is just a delight. If you are not and aspire to it, please first expose yourself to the empty bling of 5 and 6-star hotels and then you will appreciate the 5 stars this place deserves.

Bamboo stands right up there with other five star experiences I have had over the years. The guest house and its rooms are immaculately clean, very roomy, open, light and airy. The bathrooms many a top hotel could take a page from. You enjoy staying in the room for its own sake at times. The furniture is hand crafted of bamboo to the owners' specs and gives the rooms that certain character that makes the room feel like quality as opposed to cheap. Jim and Sue do their daily detailed walk around and you can be sure that the slightest thing amiss in a room they will catch and fix. The communal area has the wonderful feeling of a very large family living room and opens up the whole front into a very nice garden, a large sitting area in the garden and a very nice pool. The breakfast was outstanding both in terms of choice as well as quality. Watching Jimmy and Sue whip up omelettes, soft boiled eggs, scrambled eggs etc with a max waiting time less than any five star hotel for 5 tables at the same time amazed my girl friend and I every morning.

What certainly comes through as well and adds tremendously to the comfort factor and relaxation value is that Sue and Jimmy have run gastronomical businesses before and they understand to strike an incredible balance between letting you be, serving you and engaging you.

When I arrived I was a bit worried that the room we had faced the major road through town past the hedges and parking area/fore court outside (I am a stickler with regard to noise). It turned out to be an absolute non-issue. Traffic by nightfall is minimal at best and likewise into the later morning. The location overall was ideal to the centre of town. While not on the sea shore, we had a wonderful view of the sea. Given how wonderful Bamboo is it would take a lot for me to trade it for a sea front guest house (and I haven't found one I would trade it for as my girl friend and I scouted other places when we were there for the next time).

The Bamboo is one of the most outstanding value for money places I have stayed at over the years across 5 continents and many a top rated hotel. And that goes also in comparison to quite a number of guest houses I have stayed with in South Africa. My girl friend and I have fallen in love with the place and will certainly return many times. (or as often as I cam make it down from London!).

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same size and standard except the one facing the front, which is bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
399 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
662 reviews
1.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guest House

Property: Bamboo Guest House
Address: 303 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House offers the very finest 4 star graded guest house accommodation situated in central Hermanus. Beautiful sea and mountain views, a step away from the famous Hermanus Cliff Paths, at the entrance to the 27 hole Hermanus Golf Course, moments away from Hermanus town centre and all its activities and surrounded by splendid beaches. The entire guest house has been furnished in hand crafted Bamboo furniture which has been custom designed and purpose made for Bamboo Guest House by the family owned business, Bamboo Living. Floors are Bamboo and towels are 50% Bamboo/Cotton mixed fibre. A beautifully landscaped garden and pool area with a custom built bar will reward you with hours of entertainment and relaxation in the Overberg sun. The flow of the home with its spacious living areas lends itself to carefree comfortable living for a sublime holiday at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bamboo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing