We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & Convenient stay in Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #11 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the ground floor self catering studio.
Jose was extremely accomodating to all our needs and nothing was too much bother.
On arrival we were welcomed by Mike who was very friendly and helped us settle in.

They go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your visit - the poolside loungers all have fresh beach towels every day, the breakfast menu changes every day (and you can ask for a change the night before if you don't like it). Jose was there to greet you every morning and offer you advice on things to do in the area.

The B&B is about a 5-10min drive to the centre point of hermanus but it's a 10 min walk to the beautiful beaches and then about 15 min to get to Grotto beach and Voelklip on the coastal paths which are stunning.

About a 20-30 min drive to the closest wine vineyards for free tastings.

Overall a fantastic stay and experience and we'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor studio and the adjoining Mountain view room. The studio was very spacious...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for 78on5th in Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 325 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in this B&B in October 2013. We stayed at the self-catering unit downstairs. We appreciated the warm welcome by Jose, the nice terrace with mountain view and the delicious breakfast served in a bright room. Everything is done with eye for details and without much blabla. The B&B is a bit out of town, but as we had a car and could cook our own dinner, that was not a problem. The advantage of the location is the quietness of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veerle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

For the first time I encountered hospitality without feeling overcrowded. The room was amazing and the breakfast well served .Compliments for the fanatical attention to deatil, serving food the way you prefer. It felt like home with your own butler :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at 78on5th mid-October, at room 5 with mountain view. We loved the room size, the huge shower and great atmosphere. José was very helpful in booking a boat trip for us, and accommodating us for an unexpected 2nd night. Breakfast is amazing - I'm still trying to recreate the French toast at home, but haven't mastered it yet - and the beaches with a view of the whales is only minutes away by foot. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Hermanus.

Room Tip: Room 5 - mountain view, ground floor studio - has an amazing shower and is completely self accommoda...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in the 5 Bed family suite, made it quite inexpensive per person.
It was taken care for all our wishes, e.g. a bigger braai was organised for us.
Sharing the one bathroom among the five of us was just a little bit hectic.
But also here we were helped and could use the bathroom of the apartment next door which wasn't occupied that night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here one night, and we completely agree with all the other glowing comments that have been made on here.

A warm welcome, great room (we had room 1 facing the mountain) and an excellent breakfast all made for a great stay.

Its a little out of town, but this suited us, and its close to the coastal walk where we saw whales in the bay!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Dave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great B&B very quiet, we had a mountain facing room, great hospitality and a very relaxed atmosphere, out of the main town area but very easy access to all the restaurants. Great value for money and very comfortable.

Room Tip: View of the mountain own outside patio
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#9 of 85 in Hermanus
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $64 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing