We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accomodation in Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #11 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Accomodation in Hermanus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Service was excellent and everything was to our satisfaction.
On out next visit we would prefer the Self Catering Apartments as it suits our needs better.
We would definitely recommend 78on5th to family and friends.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moegamat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    99
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
191
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Thanx to José and his team for a wonderfull stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. José was also helpful to arrange a whale watching boat trip for us, as well as give advice on places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful place with very accomodating staff and a gracious host who took care of our every need. Great nighttime recommendations and a delicious breakfast!

Thanks so much! We'll definitely be back :D

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMarieLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Jose and his team really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. The rooms are spacious, very well equipped and really comfortable. Excellent breakfast.
We received good advice on where to eat and nearby places of interest. The house is on the quiet side of Hermanus, away from the bustle, especially during busy times, something we preferred.
Prices are very reasonable!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3. 2 for a beautiful mountain view and direct access to the pool, 3 for sea views and gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and thought I was a great place. Rooms were clean, staff were very friendly and also gave us some great recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast was great, very filling. As mentioned in other reviews, it is some way from town but if you have a car it doesn't matter. At the same time it is about a 4 minute walk to the beach where you can pick up the whale watching trail very easily. We saw loads and had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtravellotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervilla, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We deeply recommend this guest house.You are warmly welcomed and advised. Everything was perfect for our family of 4 (kids 11 and 14) from the arrival up to our departure. Nice breakfast close to the fireplace. We really appreciated the night is this warm and modern guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in Room 3 - the sea-facing room.
The room was really spacious and had all the necessities for self catering.
The bathroom was also quite big with a huge bathtub and shower.

Breakfast was generous and the staff was always kind - always asking us if we were full yet.

Only one "negative" is that it is quite a distance (about 4KM) from Old Harbour - but if you're driving, like us, it's hardly a negative!

Will definitely consider staying here again for our next trip to Hermanus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank allen5924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.2 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Property: 78on5th in Hermanus
Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing