We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #12 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were looking for accommodation that meet our needs and have found this beautifull gem in Hermanus. We have stayed for 4 nights and this is real value for money. We were met by Jose and felt at home immediately. We did not know the property at all and Jose gave us the option of choosing a room. We chose room 1 with a nice patio and amazing view of the mountain. Breakfast was awesome and filling and although we could add to what we want for breakfast we were happy with being surprised every morning. We did not have lunch once for our stay and are happy to announce that we have found our first choice of accommodation in Hermanus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    101
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
195
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent value, service, and friendliness. Even met us on late arrival when our plans changed slightly. Charming decor. Awesome breakfast. Great help with side trips. Stay here. They were so friendly. We felt right at home.





  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Received a friendly greeting, and felt right at home. Very relaxed atmosphere and room had extended this relaxed feeling as it was clean and the bed most welcoming. You can be sure of seeing me on a regular basis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were here for two nights and we enjoyed it very much. We got a bigger room than were we payed for, because there were no other guests.
Jose and Ton did everything for us. The electricity in our kitchen was not working and we could come cook in the kitchen of the owners. In the evening when the 'technical part' of the owners was back, he directly came and repaired (in only one minute) the electricity.
The breakfast was delicious! Special adapted to our wishes. A starter with fresh orange juice andn fruitsalad of yoghurt and after that nice roasted bread with jam or a very nice omelet, what you want.
We want to come back here one night if we have a possibility to come!!
The best B&B in our trip and maybe in the whole Western Cape of South Africe. They need a nomination!
ps. Nice detail: in one of our conversations we discovered that one of the owners was living for 20 years in our village of birth (in the Nederlands). How small is the world!

Room Tip: We don't know for sure, but we think the room downstairs is the only room that would not be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good service, cheap, splendid mountain view and affordable.

The room was equipped with double bed, large bathroom and access to private terrace.

Only shortcoming: wifi was only avaliable in the areas close to the front door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is definitely the place to stay if you are looking for something that is affordable, but still offers excellent service. Jose is really helpful and had a lot of great restaurant recommendations. The property’s location is beautiful and the views of the mountain is breathtaking. The location is absolutely perfect, its away from the busy town centre and there is a lovely restaurant close by who serves amazing food. We will definitely be using this property again if we go to Hermanus. Our stay was absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms have a better view and you are closer to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As this was the cheapest place we stayed in on our SA adventure we were unsure what to expect. What we found though was a great guest house with friendly staff, extremely spacious accommodation and excellent value for money. Interesting breakfast which changes daily. Really nice pool area which we enjoyed using and had all to ourselves!Would definitely return if staying in Hermanus. We ate at Burgundy Restaurant which was amazing-a highlight of our stay in SA-best book as we did or you may be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerwhinger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
525 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
5.2 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Property: 78on5th in Hermanus
Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing