We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #11 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It is all about expectations. We were a bit disappointed, that the apartment we had got was not as stylish as the rest of the B&B with a lot of art and nicely decorated.
The living room had two bunk beds, the TV even if not needed not an asset to the room.
The furniture on the terrace and also the maintenance of the garden could be more attractive.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor are a lot nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRAKS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 336 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice room, nice hosts. The only thing that we missed was the possibility to choose what we want to eat for breakfast. They have a daily changing menu but if you dont like the stuff they offer that day, you have to ask for an alternative as they dont have a buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Han_Ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautiful location right on the edge of a nature reserve. Rooms, service, food - all great. Stayed in the suite (huge), and family stayed in a smaller (but not small) room, which was also very nice. Only one minor complaint - shower door in the suite was missing some panels. But given the very reasonable price for this high quality establishment (reasonable by South African standards, and therefore evern more so by international standards), I would struggle to go below 5 stars.

Room Tip: The suite (and some other rooms) have a sea view (in the distance - but still a very beautiful view...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Breakfast was delicious. We stayed in the suite, it is big with King bed, shower, big bath, couch and balcony. There is also a pool. Was really great and would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DavidMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is really a lovely place with lovely staff and is in an excellent location. The coast is really breathtakingly beautiful! Highly recommend a stay as well as the cliff coastal walk!! :-) we are so coming back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marciaellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed two nights in a sea facing room with a balcony. Very comfortable furnishings and very clean. The decor is a lot of white tile, chrome railings, and beige walls. Artwork and sculpture is everywhere - on the vanity, near the bathtub, on the bookcases, on the deck, etc. - wonderful to look at. The cliff paths is three short blocks away and is a beautiful walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaWineWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed in the family room for 2 nights - had the pool to ourselves, great kitchen facilities, could have stayed there cooking real food if we had wanted to. Quiet, comfortable, clean - great base for Hermanus, but you will need a car.

Room Tip: You need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T419KG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
1.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing