We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Von Abercron Residence
Ranked #60 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have just returned from a 1 day trip to Hermanus, and spent last night at this Residence. It was absolutely magnificent! My room overlooked the pool, with views to die for! Magestic mountain in my backyard! The room is decorated in white and turqoise, with a bit of navy. Modern, with an exquisite bathroom! In the bedroom there is also a cabinet with TV on top, and inside coffee and tea making facilities, plus a small fridge with cold drinks (R10) and beer (R15). I paid R500 for the night, which included a superb breakfast in the morning. Perhaps a bit steep, but really worth the money! Petra made me feel really welcome!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travelislife2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just spent 3 weeks staying in the Rose Suite, Von Abercron Residence. The location is excellent, a safe and attractive area, very convenient for all attractions in Hermanus and the surrounding areas. Petra could not have been more helpful, booking restaurants and giving very good advice. On our arrival we found the Rose Suite to be a little musty, the cupboards in the kitchen and bedroom smelt damp which improved by keeping them open during our stay and though the kitchen was quite well equipped apart from a microwave oven there was no effective oven and the portable electric hot plates needed updating. The suite was very well serviced during out stay but we felt the mattresses were not really up to standard. Attention to detail would make this a winner!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 336Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The house is in a good position - right on the mountain. We had a good day swimming in the pool and saw a whole troop of baboons passing by and many beautiful Cape Sugarbirds in the garden. Unfortunately the rooms and bathrooms were disappointing - very tacky, the upstairs room facing the garden was stuffy and the mattress and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. It was such a beautiful evening but we were forced to cook indoors. We wanted to have a braai but were told that the grid had rusted away and there was no wood (despite there being a whole pile outside our bathroom window). The place is definitely not 4 star accommodation and not worth the price. Overall we were disappointed with the experience and will definitely not be going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraV721, Owner at Von Abercron Residence, responded to this review, October 28, 2015
Sorry to answer now on this review from Kirsty

This woman had only rented a double room with breakfast.
A double room is not kitchen equipped.The guests are not allowed to cook in a double room

Units are fully equipped and have own braai facilities.


Petra Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had a short stay at the Von Abercron Residence and it was wonderful. The rooms are querky and well decorated and very very clean.The host is warm and professional. What a lovely breakfast too.

Room Tip: The blue room is very suitable for family with its kitchen/lounge area and views over the golf club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.5 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
319 reviews
2.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#22 of 87 in Hermanus
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#57 of 87 in Hermanus
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#44 of 87 in Hermanus
154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Von Abercron Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Von Abercron Residence

Property: Von Abercron Residence
Address: 75 Fernkloof Drive | Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Von Abercron Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VON ABERCRON RESIDENCE is a 4 star luxury Guesthouse situated directly above The Hermanus Golf Course and adjacent to Fernkloof Nature Reserve with magnificent and panoramic mountain and sea views. It’s only a few minutes to the centre of Hermanus, the best place to watch whales or to the main beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Von Abercron Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing