We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and superb service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eat

Eat
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic food and superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We frequent the restaurant a lot and every time we go back there, it never fails to amaze. The food is well prepared, tasty and just downright fantastic.
The waiters and staff delivers world class service. Everyone knows exactly what they are doing and so far, not a single thing went wrong.

Best value for money in Hermanus.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZAFMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    63
    14
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent yumness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were staying in a place around the corner and just popped in for a beer, we planned to head back and get changed and eat round the corner, but after a long drive and a cocktail we chanced to stay for dinner and were very glad we did. I was in SA for around 3 weeks and this was the best meal we had, shared a garlic bread and I had the steak with a great bottle of wine. Admittedly a little way out from Hermanus, but worth it. Excellent food and lovely service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We were there for valentine's day and had the best fillet and duck prepared for us so far. The staff is friendly and the cheff is amazing. EAT has a wondrful atmosphere and we will definitely be dining there more often.

Helpful?
Thank Breunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chilled - wine and atmosphere :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This restaurant is very cosy and we sat in the courtyard allowing for a lovely chilled afternoon lunch! The food was delicious and our waitress was very professional and charming. Will definitely be back and recommend to our guests!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffelske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
412 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“NICE FOOD, GOOD SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This restaurant is situated some little way out of the centre of Hermanus but it is well worth the short journey to visit. We have eaten here a few times and have always enjoyed our meals, and the friendly service that accompanied them. The costs have also been very reasonable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing