We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice out of town restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eat

Eat
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice out of town restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

out the way but cosy. Menu was small but tasty . Wow. Chicken livers a great starter and Pizza excellent. kids enjoyed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waynevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    63
    14
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
167 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went here with some friends who live in the area and eat here regularly. The restaurant has an attractive outdoor eating area but we were inside, it has a number of smaller rooms so feels intimate. Our friends took a bottle of red wine (common practice in S Africa even to a licensed restaurant).
Eat has a wide range of dishes including Thai curry and Moroccan lamb, which was delicious and made a change from fish. There was less choice for dessert, two of our group had deep fried ice cream balls which were rather odd and tasted as if they'd been fried in oil used for something else first! The mains were definitely better.
Altogether we had a good time and will return to Eat next time we are in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely food and friendly service made this the 'cherry' on a day of sunshine, sea air and silky lagoon dipping at Grotto Beach. My seafood risotto was creamy and delicious. My husband's four cheese pizza was mouthwatering and utterly satisfying.
bravo EAT!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, friendly restaurant that caters for most tastes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I regularly frequent this restaurant for midday meals as locals, because of its choices of menu and seating. Menu contains pizzas for my wife and I prefer fish or meat basket. Best for Pork ribs, Pork belly, and Hake and chips. Seating inside at fireplace in Winter and outside under tenet area in Summer.
Owner is a qualified chef and staff are very friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent meal with friends at Eat. The menu is varied but we all had the steak which was done to perfection. The service was outstanding with very friendly staff. We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StanfordRiverLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing