We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable evening with friends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eat

Eat
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
167 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went here with some friends who live in the area and eat here regularly. The restaurant has an attractive outdoor eating area but we were inside, it has a number of smaller rooms so feels intimate. Our friends took a bottle of red wine (common practice in S Africa even to a licensed restaurant).
Eat has a wide range of dishes including Thai curry and Moroccan lamb, which was delicious and made a change from fish. There was less choice for dessert, two of our group had deep fried ice cream balls which were rather odd and tasted as if they'd been fried in oil used for something else first! The mains were definitely better.
Altogether we had a good time and will return to Eat next time we are in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    63
    14
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely food and friendly service made this the 'cherry' on a day of sunshine, sea air and silky lagoon dipping at Grotto Beach. My seafood risotto was creamy and delicious. My husband's four cheese pizza was mouthwatering and utterly satisfying.
bravo EAT!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, friendly restaurant that caters for most tastes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I regularly frequent this restaurant for midday meals as locals, because of its choices of menu and seating. Menu contains pizzas for my wife and I prefer fish or meat basket. Best for Pork ribs, Pork belly, and Hake and chips. Seating inside at fireplace in Winter and outside under tenet area in Summer.
Owner is a qualified chef and staff are very friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent meal with friends at Eat. The menu is varied but we all had the steak which was done to perfection. The service was outstanding with very friendly staff. We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StanfordRiverLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Not as good as we remembered !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Friendly welcome as we entered, but rather than being taken inside to the fine dining area by the fire where we had dined before, we were quickly ushered outside to what I can only describe as an outdoor seating area with a 'tented' cover ! A little chilly, however we managed fine ... just felt like a second class citizen as opposed to the experience we had on our first visit !

With that said the food was good, service a little slow this time and we would probably think twice before visiting again.

I fear on this visit as we had not made a reservation (via our hotel) this counted against us. Shame ! So my tip is to get your hotel/host, etc. to call ahead and make a reservation for you and ask for a table inside by the lovely fire place area and then at least you can avoid what happened to us !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EatHermanus, Owner at Eat, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi Lindsay and Niel

I do apologize if your experience was not as you remembered.
We at Eat try to maintain a high standard throughout service from the kitchen to the dining rooms and of course the outside section.

The only logical reason why you did not sit in the dining room was because the restaurant was full at that stage and due to this the service might have been a bit slower than usual.

Again I do apologize and will see to the matter at hand.

Regards

Petri Hendriksz
Eat Hermanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing