We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EAT, Drink and be merry”
Review of Eat

Eat
Ranked #19 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“EAT, Drink and be merry”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We visited this restaurant with our family who were visiting from the UK. The menu was full and varied, the service was friendly and the food was excellent. We all had a thoroughly good evening and all agreed that we would certainly return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    66
    14
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOOK NO FURTHER!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

EAT is one of our FAVOURITE Restaurants. The stunning atmosphere and great service combined with excellent food - it's a winner!!! We will recommend EAT to anyone and everyone!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We ended up at Eat by 'mistake' as the other options we had chosen were fully booked on the day. what a surprise. Great staff immediately made us welcome and arranged a table for our large party. The food was fantastic and the choices left us knowing that we would be back again in order to try another option next time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-YCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic dining experience.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Upon entry to Eat Hermanus we were greeted by the front of house manageress who was very welcoming. The layout of the restaurant was very relaxing and the outside seating area was exceptional. There was a various amount of options to choose from on the menu which caters for everybody. I chose the rack of ribs which were the best i have ever tasted. The waiters were very efficient and helpful and knew a lot about the food on the menu that was served there. I was very impressed how the manager not only was managing his staff but throughout the evening was also checking on his guests which adds a personal touch which we have not found in other restaurants. I was very especially impressed with the bubblegum tequila which we do not get in England. Overall we had a wonder dining experience, i would highly recommend Eat Hermanus.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred171171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eat in Hermanus”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were driving around Hermanus to find a more cosy restaurant to celebrate our 7th anniversary during a very WET April holiday. We stumbled upon the Eat Restaurant at "Hemel en Aarde" - Which turned out to be just that... Heaven.
The atmosphere was cosy with a fire place. We were lucky to find a table as most of the seats were reserved.

The variety on the menu was limited, however what they did have was absolutely wonderful, we enjoyed the separate servings of chips and vegetables from the main meal, and overall the quality of the food was superb. (The butternut soup starter was a winner!!)

Service was professional and we were made to feel vary special as the hostess and the chef checked on us during the meal.

There is additional semi- outside(more casual) seating available. The inside (cosy) seats are limited so it would be a good idea to book in advance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spicameno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing