We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale spottings”

Southern Right Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.29*
and up
Boat Based Whale Watching from Hermanus
Ranked #2 of 21 Tours in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: BOAT BASED WHALE WATCHING IN HERMANUS. Our memorable whale-watching trips are informative and educational. We mostly encounter the Southern Right whales, seals, penguins and marine birds, and often see dolphins, Bryde’s and Humpback whales on many of our trips. The purpose-built catamaran, Miroshca complies with all safety regulations and provides spectacular viewing and comfort. Qualified, experienced skipper with Whale Specialist and Interpreter guide on board- Light refreshments included- DVD of tour available- Licensed permit holder. Daily Departures: 9h00; 12h00 & 15h00. Weather Permitting. Bookings Advisable.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whale spottings”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had a good experience with Southern Right Charters, spotted whales but due to the poor weather conditions struggled to focus camera. Also high percentage of the customers ended up seasick. One tip please take tablets prior to trip. Excellent pre-trip brief given by Ken the skipper. A good day for myself but no all customers enjoyed. Thanks to Ken & the crew for professional manner they conducted the trip

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    56
    21
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great show by whales and the tour guides”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived in Hermanus, three kids in tow, eager to see some whales, although suspicious that we would actually see any this late in the "whale-watching" season. But we got some spectacular views of whales, particularly of a moma whale and her baby who were cavorting playfully around the boat. The charter guides were informative, friendly and were touchingly concerned about a few of the guests who suffered from the sea swells. All in all, a great experience in a drop-dead gorgeous part of the world.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely organised company”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The best whale watching boat in Hermanus, coupled with an extremely organised management team, makes dealing with Southern Right Charters an absolute pleasure. Keep it up!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter Takis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb whale viewing in Hermanus”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We always wanted to see whales, and being in Hermanus just at the time of the whale viewing, which is during october november, our agent chose this company, and we were glad she did"
The information and briefing they give you is very good en informative, the boat is good, they give you enough time once these 'gentle giants' are swimming Round the boat"
We saw at least around 20 of them around our boat, they gave us enough time for making photos with continuous pleasant and informTive commentatory, we never had the feeling that they wNted to hurry us back!
If we go back again, and we certainly plan to, we will take this company again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Wait”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have always wanted to see the southern right whale and had never been lucky until this trip to Hermanus. This though made up for it all. There was a most informative talk before we went onboard the boat, and once we were right out at sea there were almost too many whales to see. It was quite incredible, and all the time the staff on the boat would direct our attention to any new sightings. I think that the whales are as curious about as us as we are about them because they came right up to the boat. It was extremely choppy out at sea (in fact all the trips for the remainder of the day were cancelled, as were the ones for the following day) but the staff on the boat coped admirably with anyone feeling under the weather. We had the thrill of passing by an albino whale at the entrance to the harbour on our return journey. I really would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in seeing whales close up.
One tip, go out on the first trip in the morning as the sea tends to be calmer then, and if you are slightly queasy at sea then opt to sit down in the lowest deck.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John and Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Right Charters also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Southern Right Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing