We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Southern Right Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.77*
and up
Boat Based Whale Watching from Hermanus
Ranked #2 of 21 Tours in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: BOAT BASED WHALE WATCHING IN HERMANUS. Our memorable whale-watching trips are informative and educational. We mostly encounter the Southern Right whales, seals, penguins and marine birds, and often see dolphins, Bryde’s and Humpback whales on many of our trips. The purpose-built catamaran, Miroshca complies with all safety regulations and provides spectacular viewing and comfort. Qualified, experienced skipper with Whale Specialist and Interpreter guide on board- Light refreshments included- DVD of tour available- Licensed permit holder. Daily Departures: 9h00; 12h00 & 15h00. Weather Permitting. Bookings Advisable.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went out on the midday trip with SRC. Despite taking seasickness meds ahead of the time a and having relatively calm seas, she spent a fair portion of the trip fighting off nausea, which was unfortunate.

Luckily I didn't suffer from any seasickness, and was able to enjoy the range of sightings. We saw mothers playing with and protecting their calves, and towards the end of our trip were treated to a particularly playful mother breaching over and over again. Unlike the reports in many other reviews, there were only about 40 people on the boat so it was relatively easy to move around to get the best possible view.

While the trip is pricey at R650pp, I felt it was well worth it. Thanks SRC for a great afternoon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    55
    19
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were booked on this whale watching charter by our B&B and we weren't disappointed! Very knowledgeable and professional so great for nervous sailors like me but providing the right level of excitement for the more adventurous. Previous reviewers are correct in saying that these seem to be the best at what they do!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jlandiafaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our Second trip”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

And a better time of year. Last time it was early November and they had to search for the few remaining whales. This time, 2nd October, the sea was flat and the whales were plentiful. Brilliant time, and do listen to Ken's information - very knowledgeable and funny.

Thanks :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We were bought whale watching as an 'experience' on our honeymoon gift list and the hotel recommended Southern Right. They are based slightly outside of Hermanus and its a 10 minute drive to the New Harbour. We were there during the whale festival and they were very busy (we had booked) but the boat didn't feel too small for all of the people. In fact, it felt more spacious (and newer) than our Cape Cod whale watching trip last year.

I'm glad we saw the whales up close rather than just from the shore in De Hoop and Hermanus, as Southern Right whales don't seem to really DO as much as the Humpback whales.....we saw one breaching in the distance but its mainly just sticking their noses out and lying on their backs. You wouldn't really see very much from the shore.

It wasn't really very rough when we were out but my husband, the weakling that he is, was still sea sick. They do tell you in advance but the swell can be up to six metres high on a still day and you feel it more at the front of the boat (where we originally sat).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeccaB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Only People To Go With In Hermanus.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you love a bit of a safe adventure, and you are comforted by people who actually know what they are doing, so you don't have to worry to much about your adventure, then go with Southern Right Charters, I have been with them many times, and they are simply great. Book on-line or the old fashioned ways by phone or in person, and you will be treated well, they are polite, professional, caring and knowledgeable about their subjects, and the environment.The boat is great, the master a true professional, with a voice that could melt butter, at least my wife says, and you will just have a great time. Do it, honestly it will be worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DSG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Right Charters also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Southern Right Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing