We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the cape region” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Right Charters

Southern Right Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.80*
and up
Boat Based Whale Watching from Hermanus
Ranked #2 of 21 Tours in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: BOAT BASED WHALE WATCHING IN HERMANUS. Our memorable whale-watching trips are informative and educational. We mostly encounter the Southern Right whales, seals, penguins and marine birds, and often see dolphins, Bryde’s and Humpback whales on many of our trips. The purpose-built catamaran, Miroshca complies with all safety regulations and provides spectacular viewing and comfort. Qualified, experienced skipper with Whale Specialist and Interpreter guide on board- Light refreshments included- DVD of tour available- Licensed permit holder. Daily Departures: 9h00; 12h00 & 15h00. Weather Permitting. Bookings Advisable.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best in the cape region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

incredible whale watching experience, had viewed reports on three trips from hemanus this one is by far the best value for the price you pay, no false promise of whales ( 99% of not seizing them in december ) yet we had a spectacular view no more then 2 feet from the boat, very informative and a personalised DVD from the trip, best in the cape

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRCWhaleWatching, Manager at Southern Right Charters, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Martin,
Thanks so much for the great review & hope you will enjoy showing your DVD to family and friend. Hope you are not too cold back in the UK, our temperatures have soared to + 30 Degrees Celsius, very hot Festive Season here. Season Greetings from all at Southern Right Charters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    55
    19
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very professional. Briefing very informative, and perfect time spent with the whales when we found them, great trip!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRCWhaleWatching, Manager at Southern Right Charters, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Tracy, thanks for taking the time to review us, your comments are great, short, sweet and to the point! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you had a great experience in Hermanus as a whole.
Thanks from the Southern Right Charters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The Wonder of Whales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Thank you skipper and crew.....my trip was the best ever...the ''albino'' youngster who found
us as fascinating as we found him/her.. tails, breaches everything anyone could want to see
in one trip and the Ocean flat as a pancake.....my pics were great but I wanted the cd to back them up.

I've 'whale watched' all over the world, including Hermanus and Plett several times but this
was such a special day, maybe I should stop now but No.. I'll be back.......
... ''Observing not Disturbing'' next time I'm in Capetown.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Over Priced - Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent a lot of time researching this trip before our holiday. Sent numerous emails and sourced price and travel from Cape Town. In summary we felt it was over-priced and disappointing and this was not because we did not see any whales as we had 7 different sightings of different sole or paired whales over the 1 1/2 hours.
The pre-sail briefing we felt was bordering on aggressive/arrogant/patronising and unfortunately we felt set the tone. The chap who delivered lacked a sense of humour!!
We had prepared from previous reviews and ensured we took travel sickness tablets which we recommend if you suffer with any sea sickness.

We sailed out for 30 mins or so and found our 1st sighting which was where my husband began to get frustrated as it became apparent the boat was too full for decent photos or viewing unless the whales were on your side. This then became more exacerbatted as for the next 60 mins the skipper continued to have the whales on the left hand side of the boat and we sat on the right hand side. People stood in front which then moved from frustrating to annoyance and it continued like that even after re-postioning the boat following large swells.

From an enjoyment point of view the boat has too many people on it.

Interesting when we got back we saw as many whales breaching or tailing on land as we did on the boat and it was a lot easier to take photos.

This was our most expensive excursion of our holiday to South Africa when you include the need to pay for transport from Cape Town.

We felt not worth the money from our experience let alone it could have been worse we may not have even seen whales.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakmead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Observing NOT disturbing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A fantastic experience on a cloudy afternoon off the coast of Hermanus! The skipper guided the boat in the vicinity of the Southern Rights, without disturbing them. We were fortunate to watch the whales mate! A lifetime experience, strongly recommended!! Website is http://www.southernrightcharters.co.za/

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Szomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRCWhaleWatching, Manager at Southern Right Charters, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and great pic's - cloudy (grey) day, yes- but the sea so calm makes up for the lack of sun shine! Stunning pic of our boat leaving the Harbour as well. Many Thanks from the Southern Right Charters Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Right Charters also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Southern Right Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing