We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip, plenty of whales and close to the action”

Southern Right Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.30*
and up
Boat Based Whale Watching from Hermanus
Ranked #2 of 23 Tours in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: BOAT BASED WHALE WATCHING IN HERMANUS. Our memorable whale-watching trips are informative and educational. We mostly encounter the Southern Right whales, seals, penguins and marine birds, and often see dolphins, Bryde’s and Humpback whales on many of our trips. The purpose-built catamaran, Miroshca complies with all safety regulations and provides spectacular viewing and comfort. Qualified, experienced skipper with Whale Specialist and Interpreter guide on board- Light refreshments included- DVD of tour available- Licensed permit holder. Daily Departures: 9h00; 12h00 & 15h00. Weather Permitting. Bookings Advisable.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely trip with southern right charters. Saw whales just outside the harbour as our trip was starting and then plenty more on the far side of the bay. Had a wonderful experience watching a mother and calf playing in the surf which was fantastic, they were quit close to the boat. It was a very moving experience. We also saw a pod of bottle nose dolphins who put on a great show for us, it was excellent. I took travel sickness tablets before the trip,and am used to the sea and had no problems at all. I would advise anyone to take a travel sickness pill before setting off just in case as the sea can get pretty choppy. My only slight criticism was that the boat was quite busy, we had a whale right up by the side of the boat but a few of us didn't get to see it as that side of the boat was full, however we still saw some amazing things and I would thoroughly recommend the trip. We were very well looked after,the boat was clean and in excellent condition and the crew were very friendly. I had seen lots of whales from the land, breaching and tail slapping but this trip still added much more. A great experience!

1  Thank JennyS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRCWhaleWatching, Manager at Southern Right Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi Jenny,
Whales just outside the harbour mouth is always a luck and a great start to the trip with whale sightings only moments in, glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope the rest of your time in SA was great too, thanks for taking the time to review us,regards
THE SOUTHERN RIGHT CHARTERS TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall: great place to see whales, the best boat, super helpful and knowledgeable crew with a passion for what they do. The boat trip was safe but not stuffy and the cat they use is very stable, large enough for everyone to get a good view, and clean. Get up front for the best fun! It was definitely the best boat in the harbour.
Tip when they say get there 30 minutes before - do. Usually this means organisers want to ensure an on time departure and nothing ese. But there is a very interesting and worthwhile presentation by the skipper on the Southern Right Whale, which you are very likely to see.
We saw around 10 whales in total and a couple of seals that the kids loved. We were given useful and tips such as "point your camera to the left around 15 metres from where you last saw the whale - that's where it will likely breach next" or "here comes the tail - get your cameras ready".... very useful if you are not a professional marine photographer.
Note on sea sickness: The sea was described as good the day we went out (as a strong Easterly was flattenng the swell) but there were still a number of younger adults looking very green. If you are prone to sea sickness, as two of my fmily are - choose a calm day or try viewing from the old port Hermanus. The whales tend to come to the surface to take on air and the boat stops to allow the best viewing opportunities. As such the boat bobs alot and this is pretty grim if you are prone to sea sickness.
Overall: great place to see whales, the best boat, super helpful and knowledgeable crew and a land based team to whom I owe a particular thankyou. They found a rucksack I had left behind which was going to be problematic to return to the boatyard to pick up. It had cash and electronic stuff inside. They located my mobile, called me, boxed it up and arranged to have it couriered 300km to Knysna for me. They refused to even take cash equivalent to the cost of a round of drinks by way of a thankyou, despite my insistence. It was so uplifting to find people who enjoy what they do and are simply pleased to help out. Thanks guys. I am so appreciative and I hope this review will encourage others to stop by and see the whales with you for the many reasons listed above.

Thank Hebe_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRCWhaleWatching, Manager at Southern Right Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for the review, and I am really glad your bag arrived with you in Knysna, in one piece and with all valuables, again it was our pleasure, hope the rest of your time in SA was great and enjoyed by the whole family, thanks
THE SOUTHERN RIGHT CHARTERS TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A very exciting trip, on a family-run boat. Staff very knowledgeable, boat clean and comfortable. Saw a number of whales at very close quarters. An experience not to be missed.

Thank Traveltwo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent one of our days out from Cape Town in Hermanus on a Whale Watching Tour with this company, what a fantastic trip we had, out of the harbour and headed into the bay, saw loads of Southern Right Whales, singly and in small groups. The boat crew were excellent and we had a fantastic trip. I have to say that the whole day out including the shared mini bus from Cape Town was not cheap, almost 600 Rand each for our share of the mini bus and driver (Magic Bus Tours) and then a further 600 rand each for the boat trip. Even though we had a great full day, it was not heap but well forth the £100 each for the day. Thank you, Andy & Mandy.

1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRCWhaleWatching, Manager at Southern Right Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi Mandy & Andy, thanks for the excellent review!
Hope to welcome you back in the future, regards
THE SOUTHERN RIGHT CHARTERS TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Loved that a safe steady boat & that if bit chilly have a nice inside area. If not a great sailor then you have the back but if out for adventure you have the front.
Great briefing & explanations while out

1  Thank Wendypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Right Charters also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Southern Right Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing