We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average - I can't really recommend it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fusion Restaurant

Fusion Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
368 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Average - I can't really recommend it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I feel bad to leave a negative review but I just can't recommend this restaurant. It was average.

We ended up here because Burgundy was full. It looked a bit busy and figured it should be fine. It was fine but just nothing special. Service was fantastic but food was a bit of a let down.

I had the mussels which were over cooked because they were all shriveled up despite being big shells. It looks like they were steamed and then an overly creamy, sauce just dumped on top which was too thick. My friend had the stack of pumpkin and haloumi which was just really sticky and sweet and just too heavy in the mouth - almost like a pumpkin pie. Mains were just average.

I felt that the chef was putting in too much effort on trying to be creative when just sticking to some basics would have been just fine. Good ingredients speak for themselves without over decoration of plates and other distractions.

I definitely preferred Burgundy next store. I hope this criticism can be taken constructively. Good point was location, scene and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FusionHermanus, Public Relations Manager at Fusion Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear AndrewW2,

It is with regret that we read that you would not recommend Fusion Restaurant.

We take as much pride in our food as we take on the great service we deliver. Your misgivings about the food is noted.

Should you ever be in Hermanus again, please come on in and chat to us. We value your input.

Kindest regards,
Petrus & Estelle - owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    238
    61
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Forgot to book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

On a Sunday evening when all the main tourist restaurants were fully booked we managed to get a table here. We were not disappointed as the innovative food was delicious. I particularly recommend the pumpkin starter. The staff were good fun and the owner/chef came to say hello.
Fantastic view of the harbour and the whales in the early evening.
We were lucky to get a table as the restaurent quickly filled up. A great eating experience and would certainly eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeandrewsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Fusion Cafe was a good choice we made at Hermanus. The food was pretty good, and the staff was very kind. Nice place to be drinking a white wine, watching the sunset. They provided us some blankets because it was a cold night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a late lunch here on our first day in Hermanus on holiday - have been back since for lunch time drinks and were fortunate enough to see the Whales - staff and food absolutely fantastic - reasonable prices and exceptional ambience - do try if you are in the area

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernadetteHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The best staff in a restaurant I have ever met. Food portions are generous and amazing value . Prime whale watching spot too. One to go back to again and again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dormer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fusion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing