We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Way to spend a Sunday”

Moggs Country Cookhouse
Ranked #10 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid Way to spend a Sunday”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a wonderful meal at Moggs where the food is consistently first class with interesting and different menu choices. The service is friendly and the surroundings amazing. it is a bumpy drive up the mountain but well worth the effort!

Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    55
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special gem in the country”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A beautiful reataurant with wonderful views over the Hemel en Arrde Valley. situated in the midst of a magical wine growing area, this restaurant specialises in seasonal food with an original and creative twist. New dishes are added weekely as seasons change, the choice is around 5 options per courese and is impossible to make as each dish is special in its own right. So if you like wonderful seasonal food, imaginatively cooked and in a heavenly environment. personal focus from this family run reataurant and a passion and pride from the staff, this a lunch place that can't be missed on any visit to Hermanus or their wine growing area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hiliday lunch”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

6/1 2013
Situated in the middle of nowhere, you will have to go some 12 kilometers from Hermanus. A cozy old small farmhouse with a veranda and lawn/playground in front. The place has been run for some twenty years by a lady and her daughter. The menu was written on a blackboard. I ordered what I thought was a main dish and got a salad. On our table a fillet steak was ordered, despite the fact that the price was higher than central Hermanus. When it arrived it was very small piece, estimated to max 100gr. Normally you should expect the double. There was only one desert available, ice cream. When it came it was grainy and full of ice pieces, which means that it had gone out and in the freezer several times. For this salad lunch we paid more than we paid for a seafood meal in center Hermanus. I can not recommend this place, it really seems it has outlived it's reputation. It is just not worth the trip !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PsonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier Western Cape
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Country cooking at its best!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent food - good presentation and original menues. Beautiful setting - great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch time meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeaceValleyBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth the Journey”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had lunch here recently, our second visit. The restaurant is something of a local institution, all the people we know who live here seem to go regularly. The drive there does involve several kilometres on a gravel road - but this has always been the case. The road is being tarred so eventually will be better. The restaurant is small so you need to book, the dining room inside is cosy - if the weather is ok much better to eat outside.
The food is freshly cooked (so there may be a long wait), the menu is imaginative. I had absolutely delicious beetroot fritters! Some of the main courses are a bit heavy when it\s hot, more meat than fish. The kitchen is very small so sometimes they seem to struggle to cope.
The views from the terrace are stunning, and there always seem to be baby chickens running around.
All in all, a great experience. Very tasty food in a beautiful setting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moggs Country Cookhouse also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Moggs Country Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing