We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service lends itself to great evening !”
Review of B's Steakhouse - CLOSED

B's Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service lends itself to great evening !”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The service was friendly, the onion is a must and the steak was cooked to perfection!if u a steak lover u must pop by

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJvdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    74
    26
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Consistently good food & cosy dining”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are looking for the best steaks in town and a cosy, vibey, warm atmosphere, this is the place. Our visit was on a gorgeous summer's night and we had a table right at the patio door to the garden. I really enjoy seeing familiar wait staff because it means there's some consistency and stability to a restaurant.
Starters range in price from R39 to R45 and we enjoyed Chicken Livers Peri Peri, Snails with garlic & pinotage butter, fried Calamari, and an Ultimate Onion. All were delicious.
Our chosen mains were the slow roasted Pork Belly with wholegrain mustard mash and apple sauce for R125 (yummo, although the crackling could have crackled - the only let down), Pork Ribs with salad for R95, and the Fillet steak done to perfection R120 for 150g.
Sometimes when all you are looking for is good old fashioned cooking with a twist, then book here - yes, book, because B's is very popular in and out of season!
Oh, and we fell in love with Spot the dog who politely stayed outside throughout our meal and we could have sneaked him home with us, he was SO cute.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very slow service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Meat very good service very slow, we waited 30 minutes for one sardine starter, then another 30 minutes for main course

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SallyChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Master at the braai”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went to this steakhouse with a big group on a busy night. Despite being basically packed to the brim, service was quick and the place did not feel crowded at all. A waiter were available at our table from we sat down until we left, and he was very helpful going through our selection and picking suitable wines. One could tell that the service staff was well trained, as everything ran smoothly, just the way it should do.

The restaurant is located in a building that resembles an old barn house. The atmosphere is very laid back, so don't expect anything posh, but it really works.. Just the way a proper steakhouse should be.

When it comes to to food it just has to be experienced. It is, bar non, the best piece of meatI have ever tasted. Crispy and crusty on the outside, juicy and tender on the inside, cooked absolutely to perfection. The portions were generous, and none of us had room for desert, which rarely happens. Next time I will have to pace myself to top a wonderful evening of with some dessert. Because I will come again, that much is for sure.

And about the prices, they could charge the double and get away with it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitznicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesomwe steaks!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The best steaks we have ever eaten. You can select the size of steak you want and how its cooked - simply delicious. The chips are pretty good too! My husband decided on a 450g steak and it was enormous.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadVic2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B's Steakhouse also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing