We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermanus Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermanus Esplanade
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

A lot of reviews highlight that the place looks tired, or feels old etc. But for a budget accommodation one shouldn't expect more than you actually pay for. Our unit (number 7, sea facing 2 people flat) was clean and everything you needed was there (cutlery, utensils, towels, etc). Indeed there was an outdated feel to it and you can't help but thinking how they could redo and improve the place, but then again...prices will have to go up. The location is great, you're literally in the center of town and the view is amazing. However, the small wall around your veranda does mean anyone can just hop over. This did make one feel a bit unsafe, a guard did walk around the premises throughout the night. The unit was very cold, but we brought a little heater and it warmed up great. So yes, it is old and outdated, but to have a view like that with all the basic essentials you need, for that price, is definitely worth a visit. Should you require more luxury etc there are so many other places in Hermanus...

Room Tip: It's worth it to go for one of the sea-facing units. The view is amazing! The stairs that are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    14
    7
    15
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for a friends weekend away (from Cape Town) and were not looking for anything swanky.

The price was good, and with Hermanus being so close, we thought 'Why not?'.

We had a good weekend, as the units had what we needed, but the setup is a little odd, the one shower had a shower head facing the ceiling, and the weaver birds outside the window woke me up both mornings with their screaming. (They were beautiful but really loud). The bed was not terribly comfy either, but I really didn't expect it to be.

It's not the kind of place for a romantic getaway, but it suited our needs.

They did give us some extra time for check out which was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avataarkaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The accommodation was spacious and cosy, although the furniture was old, but clean. The view from the chalet was beautiful, opposite the ocean. Location was also very good, within walking distance of the all shops and Main Road, but not in the hustle and bustle thereof, therefore very oeaceful at at night.
each chalet had its own small private courtyard and there was a communal one as well. Both the communal area and private courtyard were enclosed with access control gates, which made us feel safe and secure.The option was there to use the communal braai area or the private one on the front patio, however that one was a bit small.

Room Tip: Room 3 has an excellent view from the lounge area and one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesireeCMentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus E, Public Relations Manager at Hermanus Esplanade, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Desiree

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards from the Esplanade Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed one night in a room which carries four people. Strangely big with two floors (2 bedrooms, 1 livingroom, kitchen/hall, 2 bathrooms). I'm not sure if they actually cleaned the room before we arrived or just changed linen and put new soup in bathrooms because it felt very dirty everywhere. No service at all. Our room wasn't available until later when we arrived and there was no place in the reception were we could store our luggage in the meantime. We got no information about the room, parking etc. The receptionist acutally saw us carrying our big luggage in the wrong direction and didn't bother telling us the key only worked at the door in the other side of the building..

I didn't feel safe and could not get out of there fast enough in the morning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

jhb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

• They do not warn their tenants adequately that there is a lot of petty theft in the area and do not ask you to rather close your window on the top floor due to many incidences of petty theft
• Their sliding windows are unable to lock adequately making it impossible to ensure the safety of your belongings. We have pictures as proof showing that there are absolutely no locks on windows
• Their security staff sit in the back games room asleep rather than patrolling the required area. The owner of the establishment has implied that I am a liar and that their staff members said they were not asleep when I found them at 7am in the morning
• I used a hand towel on the first day of my visit only to find that it was covered in hair from the previous users. So it wasn’t washed.

Terrible place.

Room Tip: Rather stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonita e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It really is such a shame that the location is so poorly utilised. The security IS shocking ( as already reviewed) and comprises special locking devices ( rusty nails) to lock the sliding doors and windows.
The shower is not funny - either scalding or freezing. The apartment is old musty and a fire hazard - lighting flex to power the TV socket!
Beware the management - they have dire warnings about consequences of not following the rules, pasted everywhere including the toilet, the front door, the back door, the gate, the bedroom wardrobe, the.....

BUT if you know this going in it's OK, because the bed in the front room ( Apt.No 1) is comfortable and the view is brilliant. Just keep all your valuables with you and grin and bear the rest. Come back here to sleep only!

Shame, this was our 3rd and last visit because the Esplanade is going to waste, having only deteriorated with each visit.

Room Tip: Go for apartments 1 - 4 if you can... it's the only reason to stay here because of the fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekandsabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place needs a serious revamp and most importantly it needs to beef up it's security. While we were staying there, other guests were getting broken into. One man had his room broken into on a Saturday morning and his cell phone and camera were stolen while another lady had an intruder in her room while she was asleep at night! The intruder prised open the sliding door in the front and stole her bag but luckily didn't harm her. There are no burglar bars on many of the windows and a low wall which anyone can get over on the one side of the premises. It really isn't safe here and cleaning staff assured me there are often break ins. Be careful if you plan on staying here- Esplanade needs to get with the times.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 41 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windsor Self Catering Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hermanus Backpackers
Hermanus Backpackers
#2 of 41 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Burgundy
Auberge Burgundy
#21 of 89 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Esplanade

Property: Hermanus Esplanade
Address: 63 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermanus Esplanade 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermanus Esplanade has been in the Clark-Brown family since 1971. The Esplanade professes itself on generations of families who return time and time again to breath in Hermanus' famous champagne air in the comfy and warm home away from home environment. The Esplanade has a total of 27 fully contained self catering units that can accommodate 2, 4 & 6 people. Being situated in the centre of the village, it's a short walk to restaurants and a wide variety of shops to suite every need. Hermanus is known for the best land based whale watching in the world (July-November). Itself offers a wide range of activities like whale watching, shark cage diving, wine tasting, adventure, nature and Blue Flag beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hermanus Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing