We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay if you want your belongings stolen”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermanus Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermanus Esplanade
jhb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay if you want your belongings stolen”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

• They do not warn their tenants adequately that there is a lot of petty theft in the area and do not ask you to rather close your window on the top floor due to many incidences of petty theft
• Their sliding windows are unable to lock adequately making it impossible to ensure the safety of your belongings. We have pictures as proof showing that there are absolutely no locks on windows
• Their security staff sit in the back games room asleep rather than patrolling the required area. The owner of the establishment has implied that I am a liar and that their staff members said they were not asleep when I found them at 7am in the morning
• I used a hand towel on the first day of my visit only to find that it was covered in hair from the previous users. So it wasn’t washed.

Terrible place.

Room Tip: Rather stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonita e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    14
    7
    15
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It really is such a shame that the location is so poorly utilised. The security IS shocking ( as already reviewed) and comprises special locking devices ( rusty nails) to lock the sliding doors and windows.
The shower is not funny - either scalding or freezing. The apartment is old musty and a fire hazard - lighting flex to power the TV socket!
Beware the management - they have dire warnings about consequences of not following the rules, pasted everywhere including the toilet, the front door, the back door, the gate, the bedroom wardrobe, the.....

BUT if you know this going in it's OK, because the bed in the front room ( Apt.No 1) is comfortable and the view is brilliant. Just keep all your valuables with you and grin and bear the rest. Come back here to sleep only!

Shame, this was our 3rd and last visit because the Esplanade is going to waste, having only deteriorated with each visit.

Room Tip: Go for apartments 1 - 4 if you can... it's the only reason to stay here because of the fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekandsabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place needs a serious revamp and most importantly it needs to beef up it's security. While we were staying there, other guests were getting broken into. One man had his room broken into on a Saturday morning and his cell phone and camera were stolen while another lady had an intruder in her room while she was asleep at night! The intruder prised open the sliding door in the front and stole her bag but luckily didn't harm her. There are no burglar bars on many of the windows and a low wall which anyone can get over on the one side of the premises. It really isn't safe here and cleaning staff assured me there are often break ins. Be careful if you plan on staying here- Esplanade needs to get with the times.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Strangely big and old. Dirty. Two floors. Difficult to open the doors. Not very good service and no information. It did not feel safe. Beautiful view over the sea but I can not recommend it. This place need a whole new interior and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were booked into a dingy four-sleeper that seemed to be stuck in the dark ages... The furniture creeked, the place smelled and everything was delapidated if not broken. The shower was not functional and the two plate stove was broken. Still we tried to make the most of our stay but the last straw was when, on the second night, water from the plastic panel above my bed began to drip in my face from the ceiling. Staying with a six month old, I decided that we just could no longer stay at this terrible place. Even after we complained, nothing was done. The breakfast offered was pathetic as was the overall service of this place. What a major dissappointment! We immediately packed our things and checked out. I will never recommendthis place to anyone. I did not feel safe here and the gate to our chalet could not lock from the inside. Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. The only upside was that it was located in the centre of town but I would rather stay further out of town then be miserable as were here. Graded as a one star place, I think they should be downgraded to having no stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed in Esplanade with two small families together in one apartment and found it good value for price with an excellent location. Above all, we were comfortably surprised by the warm welcoming. Moreoever, when my sister unfortunately forgot two dresses in a cupboard and only found out a week after, Esplanade management kindly looked for the dresses, packed them and sent them to my home adress without receiving any advance payment for the mailing fees. This was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were unfortunate to have missed a sea-frontage apartment and had to take a courtyard 2 sleeper duplex. The stairs were almost perpendicular and sort of triangular so it was like playing Russian Roulette every time we wanted to go to the bedroom/bathroom or down to the kitchen! Yes...the location is brilliant, but it is a crying shame that someone does not invest in revamping Hermanus Esplanade totally and offering superb accommodation. It may cost more, but it would be so worth it! We only stayed one night. I advise you to do the same if you absolutely cannot get anywhere else in Hermanus to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 42 in Hermanus
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Self Catering Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hermanus Backpackers
Hermanus Backpackers
#2 of 42 in Hermanus
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Esplanade

Property: Hermanus Esplanade
Address: 63 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermanus Esplanade 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermanus Esplanade has been in the Clark-Brown family since 1971. The Esplanade professes itself on generations of families who return time and time again to breath in Hermanus' famous champagne air in the comfy and warm home away from home environment. The Esplanade has a total of 27 fully contained self catering units that can accommodate 2, 4 & 6 people. Being situated in the centre of the village, it's a short walk to restaurants and a wide variety of shops to suite every need. Hermanus is known for the best land based whale watching in the world (July-November). Itself offers a wide range of activities like whale watching, shark cage diving, wine tasting, adventure, nature and Blue Flag beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hermanus Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing