We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible is an understatement”
Review of Hermanus Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermanus Esplanade
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible is an understatement”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were booked into a dingy four-sleeper that seemed to be stuck in the dark ages... The furniture creeked, the place smelled and everything was delapidated if not broken. The shower was not functional and the two plate stove was broken. Still we tried to make the most of our stay but the last straw was when, on the second night, water from the plastic panel above my bed began to drip in my face from the ceiling. Staying with a six month old, I decided that we just could no longer stay at this terrible place. Even after we complained, nothing was done. The breakfast offered was pathetic as was the overall service of this place. What a major dissappointment! We immediately packed our things and checked out. I will never recommendthis place to anyone. I did not feel safe here and the gate to our chalet could not lock from the inside. Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. The only upside was that it was located in the centre of town but I would rather stay further out of town then be miserable as were here. Graded as a one star place, I think they should be downgraded to having no stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    15
    8
    15
See reviews for
14
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed in Esplanade with two small families together in one apartment and found it good value for price with an excellent location. Above all, we were comfortably surprised by the warm welcoming. Moreoever, when my sister unfortunately forgot two dresses in a cupboard and only found out a week after, Esplanade management kindly looked for the dresses, packed them and sent them to my home adress without receiving any advance payment for the mailing fees. This was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were unfortunate to have missed a sea-frontage apartment and had to take a courtyard 2 sleeper duplex. The stairs were almost perpendicular and sort of triangular so it was like playing Russian Roulette every time we wanted to go to the bedroom/bathroom or down to the kitchen! Yes...the location is brilliant, but it is a crying shame that someone does not invest in revamping Hermanus Esplanade totally and offering superb accommodation. It may cost more, but it would be so worth it! We only stayed one night. I advise you to do the same if you absolutely cannot get anywhere else in Hermanus to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The apartment was large, comfortable and well equipped. The decor, furniture and bathrooms are somewhat tired but essentially functional. The location is very convenient for the centre of Hermanus with its restaurants etc. We had great views over the ocean at the front and a bonus of weaver birds nesting outside the bedroom window at the back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The Hermanus Esplanade embodies the resort of yesteryear. Its self-catering cottages are old. We stayed in a recently renovated, two-story unit. Normally, this would be a plus but I think the paint was still drying--the place smelled a bit from paint. But, the room was clean, and the accommodations were functional.

The stairs in our particular unit were perilous, and should not be attempted after a few drinks.

The receptionist was accommodating, but not overly friendly. Once she gave us the key, we were on our own.

The place does have a small parking lot and is centrally located. All the towns offerings are a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianpatrick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

If you want to be close to the whales and the centre of Hermanus at a very reasonable price then you can't go wrong. It is literally across the road from one of the best whale watching spots in town and a 2 minute walk to the shops/ restaurants. For the price and convenience I would definitely recommend. This is not luxury accommodation though, it is pretty basic. The apartments are around a courtyard, so no sea views, the interiors are clean and well maintained, but dated and definitely not stylish and whilst there is everything you need to cook, it's not what I would call well equipped. For a night or two go for it - for a luxury break, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windsor Self Catering Apartments
0.0 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 41 in Hermanus
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermanus Backpackers
Hermanus Backpackers
#2 of 41 in Hermanus
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Esplanade

Property: Hermanus Esplanade
Address: 63 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermanus Esplanade 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermanus Esplanade has been in the Clark-Brown family since 1971. The Esplanade professes itself on generations of families who return time and time again to breath in Hermanus' famous champagne air in the comfy and warm home away from home environment. The Esplanade has a total of 27 fully contained self catering units that can accommodate 2, 4 & 6 people. Being situated in the centre of the village, it's a short walk to restaurants and a wide variety of shops to suite every need. Hermanus is known for the best land based whale watching in the world (July-November). Itself offers a wide range of activities like whale watching, shark cage diving, wine tasting, adventure, nature and Blue Flag beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hermanus Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing