We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a great location”
Review of Hermanus Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermanus Esplanade
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The apartment was large, comfortable and well equipped. The decor, furniture and bathrooms are somewhat tired but essentially functional. The location is very convenient for the centre of Hermanus with its restaurants etc. We had great views over the ocean at the front and a bonus of weaver birds nesting outside the bedroom window at the back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

The Hermanus Esplanade embodies the resort of yesteryear. Its self-catering cottages are old. We stayed in a recently renovated, two-story unit. Normally, this would be a plus but I think the paint was still drying--the place smelled a bit from paint. But, the room was clean, and the accommodations were functional.

The stairs in our particular unit were perilous, and should not be attempted after a few drinks.

The receptionist was accommodating, but not overly friendly. Once she gave us the key, we were on our own.

The place does have a small parking lot and is centrally located. All the towns offerings are a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianpatrick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

If you want to be close to the whales and the centre of Hermanus at a very reasonable price then you can't go wrong. It is literally across the road from one of the best whale watching spots in town and a 2 minute walk to the shops/ restaurants. For the price and convenience I would definitely recommend. This is not luxury accommodation though, it is pretty basic. The apartments are around a courtyard, so no sea views, the interiors are clean and well maintained, but dated and definitely not stylish and whilst there is everything you need to cook, it's not what I would call well equipped. For a night or two go for it - for a luxury break, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RuthieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fernando f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hermanus Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: In jedem anderen Hotel in Hermanus, nur nicht dort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duerscheider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hermanus Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bo aldrig här åk hit på dagtid och ta hellre in i Bettys Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizbeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank alessandro7165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.2 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windsor Self Catering Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hermanus Backpackers
Hermanus Backpackers
#2 of 45 in Hermanus
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Esplanade

Address: 63 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range: $52 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermanus Esplanade 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermanus Esplanade has been in the Clark-Brown family since 1971. The Esplanade professes itself on generations of families who return time and time again to breath in Hermanus' famous champagne air in the comfy and warm home away from home environment. The Esplanade has a total of 27 fully contained self catering units that can accommodate 2, 4 & 6 people. Being situated in the centre of the village, it's a short walk to restaurants and a wide variety of shops to suite every need. Hermanus is known for the best land based whale watching in the world (July-November). Itself offers a wide range of activities like whale watching, shark cage diving, wine tasting, adventure, nature and Blue Flag beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hermanus Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing