We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable place to stay for relaxing days!”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very friendly and helpful host, kindly staff and a cosy and calm atmosphere making this place a great value for money spot situated next to the beach and only few minutes drive to the national park and the city center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexlo0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 571 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Decided on a night in Hermanus after a friends wedding in Greyton, came across Baleens online. Amazing accommodation considering the price, located within walking distance of a great beach. Comfortable setting with a nice dining area & living room. Also recommend a meal at Dutchies on the beachfront, epic sunset....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We're into the second week of a two week cycle tour of the Western Cape and Saturday was our rest day at Baleens.
Lovely spot just out of town - still only a walk to the beach and a nice long (5km) cliff top walk into town.
Food was very good, laundry was free ( we tipped) and all in all the facilities were great.
The staff were very helpful, breakfasts were plentiful and with an 'honour' bar, what more can I say?

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This "old" establishment really surpassed our highest expectations. Management was extremely friendly, room very tidy, entire property clean, most delicious breakfast. Will definately stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jgreyvenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our friends and spouses from the 1960 Army Gymnasium Anti-Aircraft Unit had a re-union and stay-over at Baleens. The five star treatment by Nato Barnard was fantastic and our get-together made the tour to Baleens worthwhile. We felt at home and the stay was great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing seashore with balcony very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerklaasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

First off, If you're looking for a High End 5 star place to stay close to town, this isn't it, in saying that we had the most amazing time here, the FRIENDLIEST staff and we were very well looked after, Highly recommended to anyone interested in a comfortable, affordable place to stay, a bit out of the way if you want to be close to town but we expected that and wanted it, nothing was a hassle and this is why we are giving it such a high rating.

Thanks again Paula

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Riki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place offered good value and an excellent breakfast. The suggestion of an evening meal on the beach at Duchies was excellent. Help was at hand with luggage and we had a friendly reception on arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msercombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
725 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Pines Lodge
Four Pines Lodge
#11 of 11 in Hermanus
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $46 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing