We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Hermanus this weekend for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. We stayed at Baleens for 2 nights. On check in we were warmly welcomed and given a quick tour of the guest house and then taken to our room. Sea facing!
Everyone is friendly and accommodating and breakfast was great. Must visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Turners_Travel_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    247
    70
    14
    9
See reviews for
204
192
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egbe, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great old house renovated to a large guesthouse. Very close to a secluded and not very traveled beach for privacy. Close enough to downtown Hermanus to be a part of the action, but far enough away to not hear or be disturbed by anyone or anything. (you will need a car or taxi to get to town). We stayed in a family suite and the beds were a little stiff and the bathroom could use upgrading, but nothing that would keep us from coming back and nothing that couldn't be overlooked for the value. If you are looking for major luxury and pampering, then maybe this isn't for you. Totally comfy and livable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lenon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceres
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Good value for your Money, clean, comfortable, airy rooms. Lovely Pool and Braai area. Quiet and staff friendly and accommodating. Near beaches and only a 7 minute drive into the village. I definitely will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Every year (for the last 4 years I think now) our family spends a night at Baleens for for us to get away and spend some time together. We always have a wonderful time. The kids love the pool and games available. Good quality family time for all of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It is very nice and safe guest house to stay when you visit Hermanus. The rooms are clean . The enviroment aroud this guest house is beautiful. I will be glad to introduce this guest house to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed overnight 3 guests in 2 rooms. To be honest I would not return. I booked as the reviews seemed quite good and I had trouble finding accommodation in hermanus. The rooms were so bright all night with only sheer curtains it was like daylight and we barely slept. The beds were small and uncomfortable my feet were over the end. My poor husband at almost 2m was quite uncomfortable.
The bathroom was small and grubby and nowhere for toiletries. The towels provided were tiny. The espresso machine was broken and bottled water was unavailable. The guest fridge upstairs was smelly and needed cleaning out and defrosting.
If you're looking for an overnight stop that's cheap and can overlook these issues then it will be ok but don't expect more for this money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsten
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The location is next to the beach. There is space for parking in next to the building. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing