We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baleens, Hermanus”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Baleens, Hermanus”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Worth going out of your way to stay there !!

The room was large and well appointed, generally comfortable and a lovely bathroom/shower.
Breakfast was very good and thoroughly recommended. The owner, Paula put astonishing amount of thought into this B&B ... creating levels of comfort and homeliness that are outstanding.

They are wheelchair-friendly too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanN491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    248
    70
    14
    9
See reviews for
204
193
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visiting from UK, SA, Australia and New Zealand after our daughter's wedding near Robertson, with a group of 22 friends and family. We were instantly made to feel extremely welcome by Nato and Paula. Baleens is, as already mentioned, clean, simple, excellent value for money and a perfect base for visitors to the area for one or more nights. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked by Nato, the communal areas were clean and comfortable and we had use of the braai and kitchen. Tea and coffee were available 24/7 in the breakfast area and the bar was well stocked! We would have no hesitation in recommending Baleens. Thanks again for your hospitality, Karen, John, Rebecca and Gerhard

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzaH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Simple, clean, cheap, bargain. Management were friendly and helpful but not overbearing. Breakfast was tasty and cooked by the owner. Walk a kilometre to a lovely little cafe by the beach for tasty dinner.

To be honest, when whales are at Hermanus, there isn't much to do. Get in and get out and onwards on the garden route,

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doug88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A well-run guest house at a bargain price, located in a quiet suburb near the beach. We had a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the side of the building for four nights. Paula and Nato are helpful and friendly, the breakfast excellent and we enjoyed Hermanus as a whole - though the central tourist area does get overcrowded on weekends. No problem with mozzies for us. We saw baboons and great birdlife from the room. Wonderful views. Highly recommended. A patch of creaky floor crossed when using the bathroom was the only minor complaint (we kept waking each other up).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was one of our great finds along the garden route and we will most certainly be back on the next trip, one small word of advice make sure you have some mosquito repellent - the ones in our room where the size of bats

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a sea facing room, I believe they're great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickys_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A really lovely guesthouse, ridiculously cheap with a nice little pool, spacious rooms and a very friendly owner. Just next to a beach and a five minute drive from the town centre. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place sure exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 2 nights in a large family room with 1 double bed and 2 single beds. The room also had a sofa, dining table, micro wave and some plates and cutlery. Bathroom looked a bit worn. Wifi signal was good in the room. Traveling with a 3 year old it was perfect. Nothing fancy, but for the price we paid it was fantastic value for money. Breakfast was good (yogurt, müslie, fruit, toast, bacon and egg). The host was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is quietly located a few minutes drive from the town center and close to the beach, which could even been seen from outdoor area where we had breakfast. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_travel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing