We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thank you for a most enjoyable stay, My husband & I really found your B&B cosy, relaxing and just that home away from home feeling. We felt comfortable & relaxing. We had a sea-facing room with balcony, which is a must. We enjoyed the view & just chilling. Thank you again for accommodating us with a special breakfast. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Baleens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 553 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thank you Nato and staff for a brilliant stay at Baleens !
Our accommodation was very comfortable and we enjoyed the sea and mountain views from our room.
We loved the location and are certain that no other establishment can offer such good value for money.
The hotel is decorated with stunning pieces, the breakfast buffet was excellent and the relaxed atmosphere was greatly appreciated.
We will return for sure !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Baleens is a nice and quiet place with lovely African decorations, and roomy public areas. It is located in a residential area, and only a few steps away from a pleasant walking path along the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful, and a nice buffet breakfast is served. We had an upstairs room at the back, which was quite adequate with a bit of a mountain view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Let me start by saying we were in a room in a section that we were told was going to be renovated and that the rest of the hotel was renovated.

Overall though Baleens was fine for the night. Nato is welcoming and helpful. The dining room and overall place is clean and spacious. There's a computer with internet and free wifi. Also free coffee and tea throughout the day, free breakfast, and a restaurant/bar at night. Spring for a balcony with a bay view - we saw a whale the first night we were there!

The biggest downfall is the location - if you're here for one night it's fine, otherwise I would personally want to be closer to the town center. The room itself was fine but the light on our balcony didn't work, the door made noises all through the night, the bed was creaky, the bathroom was dark, the light to the bathroom was actually next to the front door, not in the bathroom, there were spider webs outside our balcony door, some spots on the sheets. Like I said earlier, this room may be on the way towards change but while we were here, it wasn't.

Room Tip: Try to get one in a renovated part of the guesthouse.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Baleens was terrific. We had a large "sea-facing" room with a balcony and a view of Grotto Beach. The hotel is an airy, spacious, nicely furnished old place, about 2 to 3 miles from the Hermanus town center, in a quiet residential area, which we much preferred to the hustle-bustle. Nato, the manager, is a wealth of knowledge which he shares freely, concerning where to visit, eat, drink, etc., not just in Hermanus but in much of S.A. All this plus a full breakfast for only about $75.

Room Tip: Get a sea-facing room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a nice hotel with friendly and helpful hosts. I had a double room to myself containing a double and a single bed so plenty of space for one person. I had a nice view to the side of the hotel overlooking mountains. The room was relatively basic with no hair drier and no tea and coffee making facilities but it was clean. The en-suite was a good size with a great shower. The public areas were spacious with plenty of books and games scattered around, there was also a pool table in the games room. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked. The wifi was a bit limited and did not reach much beyond the public areas. I did feel that this hotel was a bit far from the town, not an easy walk although it was close to the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

By far the best pub I got to in SA. Just the right size to fit the perfect crowd of 8-10. Amazing selection of beer n wine, one of the best merlot I've had (spookfontein), very much a terroir wine. The food was top notch, and I was more than stuffed. Got to chat for a whiel with the barman and the chef, both are chipper delightful fellas in their own right. Despite being a tiny pub with a heart (and hearth!) this was probably the funnest night I ended up having on vacation. Don't go to town, stay home for this beauty.

The rooms were pretty standard, with nice view of the ocean (watched whales breach from the room!). Didn't get breakfast as had to beat hell to the Sharks early next morning, but the staff had some bread n basics for us.

Room Tip: Seriously, just stay here to eat.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beernwinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermanus
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
7.7 mi away
Oude Schuur
Oude Schuur
#1 of 1 in Vermont
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing