We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
haydock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

You get what you pay for very friendly great location on the beach great breakfast we used the new restaurant and bar that has just opened which is not run by owners and we had a great night. only stayed one night but would nstay again if in Hermanus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaydockNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    232
    66
    12
    8
See reviews for
181
187
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

What we liked: room with a balcony and a view of the waters. Lovely! Nice breakfast, cooked fresh in the morning and very friendly hosts.

What we didn't like as much: wifi was only at the lounge and there was no satellite TV in the rooms. But the biggest issue was the bed was saggy...we were rolling towards the middle soon as we lie down. The pillows were thin and mine did not smell clean. Luckily, the room next door was unoccupied and unlocked, so we sniffed out some clean pillows for the night.

To be fair, I am sure the hosts would have changed them for us, but since we were there for only one night, we didn't get the opportunity to ask.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarawilliamslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

we stayed for two nights and celebrated new years eve here and it was the perfect place! a really charming guesthouse just a few meters from the beach! like paradise!!!! the hosts are more than friendly and the breakfast was great! we could even use their kitchen for our braii. we really enjoyed the stay and would come again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hermanus is a place which is swarming with tourists, this place however is on the outskirts of Hermanus and within walking distance from the beach. It' feels really safe and doesn't require the usual set of 3 keys with automated gate and electrified fences.

Baleens is a bed and breakfast which has a hostel feel and a very comfortable and open atmosphere. There is a nice TV room as well as a pool table. There is also a lounge room upstairs which contributes to the open atmosphere.

This place is ideal for families with young children. There is a nice swimming pool outside it's not that big. The breakfast was okay, not that much variety but it tasted good.

The rooms are not that special but you can't expect a suite for the rates they charge you a night.

If you want to visit Hermanus and enjoy a quite and friendly environment within walking distance of the beach, do not hesitate book a stay at Baleens.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_dude_1984_Kees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Baleens is a gem to be found in laid-back Hermanus. This quiet corner-lot bed and breakfast has a nice rustic feel that is complemented by the equally nice people who run it. Nato and Paula adds a pleasant personal touch to each of their guests. They make it a point to make you feel at home and helps you in whatever you need. Another special thing about this place is its close proximity to the beach and the lagoon. My wife and I got a sea facing room which was perfect for us. This room has an ample sized balcony overlooking the beach. One can sit and relax on the wooden chairs while sipping a cup of coffee or a bottle of Hansa Pilsener.

There are a lot of B&B places in Hermanus but I would really consider checking out this place. Your stay in Hermanus will be extra special when you stay with Baleens.

Credit card accepted. Internet wifi available at the ground floor lounge. hearty breakfast included with the room. When in Hermanus, taxis are not readily available. There are tuktuks to be called but a bit pricey. One should definitely check out the town center and walk along the cliffs. It is absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Sea Facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Such great value for money, the service was great, breakfast whilst not huge was delicious. the room was spacious and clean, tidy and very relaxing sitting on the balcony. Internet let alone wifi in South Africa is very hard to come by so to be able to access the wifi and the PC downstairs definatly made life easier. Hermanus is a beautiful area, we just wish we had more time to spend there, till next time!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view which gave a balcony to just chill out and enjoy a drink on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at Baleens twice within a three-week period while living in Cape Town. It was a wonderful place to just get away for some peace and quiet. The owners and staff are all exceptionally accomodating and friendly! The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is delicious and filling, the price is beyond reasonable, and the location is perfect. Close to the town center without being right in the middle of all the action. You can walk down to the ocean, run along the Fernkloof Cliff Path, watch whales at Grotto Beach, etc. without having to move your car from the parking lot! You can ask for restaurant recommendations (I was directed to Quayside Cabin Restaurant in New Harbour - amazing food at a very reasonable price! I went there twice for dinner...) and directions to anywhere in the Overberg. I love Baleens and will continue to stay here during whale watching season. Five stars for such excellent service!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo, I would recommend room #10. It is on the first floor, right by an outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisygrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing