We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarters Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quarters Hermanus
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lovely stylish hotel in the centre of town - walk to restaurants, pubs and shops. Gorgeous views over Walker Bay - the suites are stunning, modern and very well furnished with comfortable living area, modern kitchen/diningroom and luxurious bedroom/bathroom. Sliding doors open onto a spacious balcony where you can enjoy sundowners overlooking the bay! Very friendly staff. Underground parking a big plus! Recommended as a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crecia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    80
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
128
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton on thames
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Quarters Hermanus has a great location in the centre of town and the underground secure parking was very useful. The rooms were very modern, stylish and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly and happily booked trips for us or made restaurant recommendations. The hotel lacked some ambience and warmth but this was perhaps because we were staying in a quiet period. Breakfast is served at the restaurant next door and was nice but the choice was not as extensive as all other hotels/guesthouses which we stayed in during our trip . All in all a good comfortable base to explore.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank em99w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We recently returned for a weekend in Hermanus and were very impressed with this stunning little boutique hotel, right in the middle of the town's sqaure. It didnt matter that it rained the whole weekend - it was so central we could walk to do some shopping and hide away inside with red wine.The staff were very friendly and the place was spotless - we stayed in a Suite and I would definitely recommend it. Parking is provided downstairs and it was great to have breakfast at Oskar's over the road, where we had fantastic coffee and great food. All in all, very impressive and I cant wait to go back for a 2nd visit.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

we stayed in april at the Quarters in Hermanus. The staff was very friendly, the location could not be better and the rooms are spacious and offer lots of privacy. We can recommend everyone to stay at this place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed three nights at the hotel and we were very pleased with the place. We would recommend it to others and will definitely stay there again. It has an excellent location right in the centre of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Heinrich and Sweety. We moved from our initial room due to some odour which they said is due to the direction of the wind. The staff dealt with this very professionally and we were not inconvenienced at all since they moved us to another suite. We chose the room rate only (excl breakfast) as there are a myriad of eating options within 5min walk from the hotel. I appreciated the parking facilities, which are underground and secure. We had a trailer and the fact that the trailer was safely underground behind lock gave me a sense of comfort. Wi-fi is available at additional cost...pretty much on par for many establishments in SA. All in all a very good experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Small hotel right in the centre of Hermanus , in the middle of restaurants, cafes etc and within a short walk of the sea.

And wonder of wonders in Hermanus, it has covered parking, free to residents

It has 9 rooms and 9 suites. We had a suite.It had a large sitting room with sofa and armchairs, a reasonably equipped kitchenette, a smaller but adequate bedroom and good size bathroom with separate shower and WC. Good air conditioning.

The whole clean modern and efficient.And we had a large balcony which we shared with two other next door rooms.

Breakfast is taken across the road at a Deli .This is not of the required standard.

There are no gardens or grounds and the smallish pool is on the 3rd floor.

It is all modern and efficient.But maybe a little pricey and lacking in warmth

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Sweet small hotel having contempory deco and style. We only stayed for 1 night but would have loved to stay longer! Hermanus is also a sweet place and deserves at least 2 or 3 nights. Experienced shark cage diving which is worth every penny. It was not whale watching season when we were there but we did see a couple of dolphins from the waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hermanus

Property: Quarters Hermanus
Address: P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus is considered to offer the best land based whale watching on the African continent. Quarters Hermanus is located on the historic Hermanus Harbour. The suites are tastefully decorated in a modern style. The rooms feature splendid views of the mountain cliffs or the magnificent ocean below. The hotel offers many leisure facilities and modern room amenities. The hands on management team ensure efficient service delivery to all our guests needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quarters Hermanus Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing